MarginEdge vs Shoebooks

MarginEdge is back-office software for restaurants that turns supplier invoices into line-item data and combines it with POS sales to show daily food costs and a controllable P&L. Shoebooks is an Australian bookkeeping and payroll service that also sells its own cloud accounting software as a stand-alone product. Both are listed under Restaurant Accounting & Bookkeeping. They differ in price, audience and platforms.

Key differences

  • price

    Starting prices: MarginEdge at USD 350 per location per month; Shoebooks at $39 (currency not stated) per month. The currency or billing basis differs, so they are not directly comparable.

  • audience

    The audiences they list differ. Listed for one product only, for example: MarginEdge: Independent restaurants and multi-unit groups; Shoebooks: Restaurants, pubs, clubs and nightclubs in Australia.

  • platforms

    Listed platforms: MarginEdge: Web, iOS; Shoebooks: Web.

  • countries covered

    MarginEdge names 2 countries and Shoebooks names 1 country. No country appears in every list.

  • company background

    By founding year, MarginEdge (2015) and Shoebooks (2002). MarginEdge is based in Arlington, United States and Shoebooks in Richmond, Victoria, Australia.

Side by side

MarginEdge vs Shoebooks: side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldMarginEdgeShoebooks
What it isMarginEdge is back-office software for restaurants that turns supplier invoices into line-item data and combines it with POS sales to show daily food costs and a controllable P&L.Shoebooks is an Australian bookkeeping and payroll service that also sells its own cloud accounting software as a stand-alone product.
Best forIndependent restaurants and multi-unit groups; Operators who want to stop keying in invoices; Multi-unit and commissary operations; Accounting firms serving restaurantsRestaurants, pubs, clubs and nightclubs in Australia; Venues with several divisions or cost centres
Pricing modelSubscription per locationSubscription (software) plus hourly services
Starting priceUSD 350 per location per month$39 (currency not stated) per month
Free planNot publishedNo
Free trialNot publishedYes
ContractNone on monthly billing; 12 months on annual billingNot published
PlatformsWeb, iOSWeb
CountriesCanada, United StatesAustralia
LanguagesNot publishedNot published
Number of integrations29Not published
CertificationsNot publishedNot published
Security practicesHosted on AWS with encrypted communication, bank data encrypted at rest, annual penetration testing (no certification named)Data hosted in Australia with frequent backups
Founded20152002
HeadquartersArlington, United StatesRichmond, Victoria, Australia
OwnerNot publishedNot published
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

No partner appears in every list.

Named only by MarginEdge

  • 7shifts
  • AccountingEdge
  • Arryved
  • Breadcrumb
  • Clover
  • Comdata
  • Compeat
  • Focus POS
  • GoTab
  • HungerRush
  • Lightspeed
  • Microsoft Dynamic GP
and 17 more
  • Aloha
  • NetSuite
  • PAR POS
  • POSitouch
  • Intuit QuickBooks
  • Restaurant365
  • Revel Systems
  • Sage Intacct
  • Shift4
  • Shopify
  • Simphony
  • SpotOn
  • Square
  • Tabit
  • Toast
  • TouchBistro
  • Xero

Named only by Shoebooks

Shoebooks does not name any integrations in the material we reviewed.

Which to choose

MarginEdge

Choose MarginEdge if you fit its listed audience: Independent restaurants and multi-unit groups; Operators who want to stop keying in invoices; Multi-unit and commissary operations.

Our profile lists a weaker fit: Restaurants outside the U.S. and Canada, and Canadian operators who want bill pay: the pricing page says U.S. restaurants only for now, and the FAQ says bill pay is not offered to Canadian clients.

Shoebooks

Choose Shoebooks if you are in one of these groups: Restaurants, pubs, clubs and nightclubs in Australia; Venues with several divisions or cost centres.

What we could not confirm

MarginEdge

  • Investors in the Series D and Series B rounds
  • Android app availability
  • Interface languages
  • Formal security certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001)
  • Full list of POS integrations (the vendor shows logos without names)
  • Onboarding package prices
  • Legal registration details

Shoebooks

  • Named integrations (none listed on the site)
  • Mobile apps and hardware requirements
  • Security certifications
  • Employee count and funding
  • Interface languages

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.

MarginEdge, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepagehttps://www.marginedge.com/
  2. Pricing and FAQhttps://www.marginedge.com/pricing/
  3. Platform overviewhttps://www.marginedge.com/how-it-works
  4. Invoice processinghttps://www.marginedge.com/automated-invoice
  5. Bill pay and securityhttps://www.marginedge.com/bill-pay
  6. Cost managementhttps://www.marginedge.com/food-cost
  7. Inventory and orderinghttps://www.marginedge.com/inventory-management
  8. Recipeshttps://www.marginedge.com/menu-analysis
  9. Multi-unithttps://www.marginedge.com/for-multi-units
  10. Accountantshttps://www.marginedge.com/for-accountants
  11. AI featureshttps://www.marginedge.com/ai-for-restaurants
  12. Onboardinghttps://www.marginedge.com/onboarding-and-training
  13. POS integrationshttps://www.marginedge.com/pos-integration
  14. Accounting integrationshttps://www.marginedge.com/accounting-integration
  15. Story, client counthttps://www.marginedge.com/our-story/
  16. Foundershttps://www.marginedge.com/team
  17. Funding coveragehttps://www.marginedge.com/press
  18. iOS apphttps://apps.apple.com/us/app/marginedge/id1591999728
  19. HQ, founding year, sizehttps://www.linkedin.com/company/marginedge