Workforce
70 products listed
Introduction
Staff are usually the biggest running cost in a food business, and the paperwork around them eats a manager's week. Workforce software covers the jobs that sit between hiring someone and paying them: deciding who works when, recording the hours they actually worked, sharing tasks and messages, splitting tips, and getting wages to people on time. The categories here differ by the job they do. Some plan the week ahead, some record what happened, some calculate pay, and some deal with money that moves outside the normal payslip, such as tips and early access to wages. Many products cover several jobs at once, so the same name can appear in more than one category.
Who needs it
Any business with hourly or shift staff, from a single cafe with a handful of part-timers to a chain with hundreds of workers. It becomes worth looking at when rotas live in a spreadsheet or group chat, when hours are copied into payroll by hand, or when nobody can say what labour is costing against sales until the month has ended.
Written 30 September 2026
What to look for
Which jobs it covers on its own. Some products only build rotas, while others add clocking, payroll, hiring and messaging. Decide what you want in one system before you compare prices.
Link to your till or POS. Sales data from the POS feeds forecasts, labour cost against takings, and tip calculations. Check that your exact POS is supported.
Rules for your country. Working-time, break and tip rules differ by country and some products are built for one place only. Check the countries listed and confirm the rules with an adviser.
Published price or quote only. Small-team tools usually show a price per location or per user. Products for larger groups often ask you to book a demo first.
At a glance
Across the profiled products, small-team tools tend to publish a per-location or per-user monthly price, while products for multi-site groups often give a quote only. Tip and wage-access products sometimes take a share of tips or charge staff small fees instead of a subscription.
Categories in Workforce
Employee Scheduling & Rostering (45)
Building the weekly rota is one of the most time-consuming jobs a manager has.
Labour Forecasting & Optimisation (23)
Labour is one of the largest costs in a restaurant, and it is hard to control if you set staffing by habit.
Task Management & Digital Checklists (16)
Opening checks, cleaning rounds, temperature logs and closing routines all need to be done and proved.
Payroll (15)
Payroll software works out what each person is owed from their hours, rates, tips and deductions, produces payslips and pays them.
Tip Pooling & Tip Distribution (15)
Tips are shared between servers, bar staff, kitchen and hosts under rules that change from one venue to the next, and working out the split by hand after a busy night is slow and open to argument.
Earned wage access lets an employee take part of the pay they have already earned before the normal payday.
Hiring & Applicant Tracking (5)
Restaurants hire often, and every vacancy means writing an advert, posting it in several places, sorting replies and chasing candidates.
Compare products
62products with a profile. Ordered by how many columns are filled, then by name. Select a column heading to sort.
| Product | Best for | Starting price | Free plan | Free trial | Platforms | Integrations | Last reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single restaurants and small teams | CAD 39.99 per location per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 26 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants that need simple shift scheduling | $3.25 (currency not stated) per user per month | No | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 17 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and izakaya that collect shift requests from part-time staff | JPY 330 per linked staff member per month (tax included) | No | Yes | Web, iOS | 4 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Fast-food and restaurant operators in France | EUR 68 per establishment per month | No | Yes | Web | 7 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and hotels with shift teams | USD 5 per user per month | No | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 25 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Small single-site food businesses | USD 30 per location per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 17 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs with shift teams | GBP 2.99 per user per month | No | Yes | Web, iOS | 34 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-site food and hospitality operators | USD 24 per seat per month (billed annually) | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 11 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, bars and cafes | USD 2 per user per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 8 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurant chains and groups in Europe | EUR 15 per location per month | No | Yes | Web | 23 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and small businesses already on Clover | $30 (currency not stated) per location per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS | 17 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Small restaurants and cafes on a tight budget | USD 9.99 per month | Yes | Yes | Web, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Single restaurants and small operators | USD 39 per month | Yes | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, pubs and cafes in Poland | PLN 12.99 per employee per month, net | Not stated | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 7 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location quick-service and fast-casual restaurants | $79 (currency not stated) per location per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 14 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent restaurants | $30 (currency not stated) per month | No | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant and bar groups | USD 40 per location per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and hotels in France and neighbouring countries | EUR 79 per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 23 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and cafes using Square POS | USD 35 per month, plus $6 per month per person paid | No | Not stated | Web | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| F&B outlets and small chains in Singapore | SGD 89 per roster | Yes | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit restaurant operators | Not published | No | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 29 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independents with one or two sites | GBP 32 per site per month, paid yearly | Not stated | Yes | Web | 7 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit and franchise restaurant chains | USD 150 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 19 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit restaurant operators | USD 75 per store per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 7 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and bars paying out tips | Not published | Yes | Not stated | Web | 26 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurant and QSR employers | Not published | Yes | Not stated | Web | 13 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Hotels and hospitality teams using temporary staff | Not published | Yes | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 4 | 29 September 2026 | |
| UK hospitality operators that want to save National Insurance on tips | GBP 8.99 per active user per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 11 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit and franchise restaurant groups | Not published | Not stated | No | Web, iOS, Android | 26 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Pubs, restaurants and hospitality groups | GBP 103 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 42 | 29 September 2026 | |
| SpotOn POS restaurants | USD 3 per employee per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 6 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Full-service and quick-service restaurants | Not published | Not stated | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 9 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 20 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit restaurant chains | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 36 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, bars and hotels that want to add cashless tipping | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 8 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Hotels and hotel groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 7 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant operators | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 25 | 29 September 2026 | |
| HotSchedules restaurant and hospitality employers | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | iOS, Android | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and restaurants tipping out staff | USD 99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit restaurant and hospitality brands hiring at volume | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS | 24 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location hospitality operators | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 4 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and quick-service chains that pay out tips | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 10 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Full-service restaurants paying cash tips | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 2 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant operators | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 10 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-site restaurant and catering groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 11 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant and cafe groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 16 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-site hospitality groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 9 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and franchises in the US and Canada | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 10 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-site restaurant and QSR chains | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS | 15 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 15 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit franchise and corporate restaurant chains | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 39 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant and QSR chains | Not published | Not stated | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Hotels and hospitality groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Cafes, restaurants and other tipped service businesses | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant and food and beverage brands | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 13 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-site food and beverage operators | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurant groups on UKG, Workday, Oracle, Dayforce or SAP SuccessFactors | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Lightspeed Restaurant POS users in the US | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Large multi-store quick-service restaurant chains | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit quick-service operators | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | 32 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurant and QSR chains standardising food safety checks | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | iOS, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit restaurant chains with large hourly workforces | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | None named | 29 September 2026 |
Products without a full profile
Related categories
Figures come from vendors' own published information, last reviewed on 29 September 2026. See how we list products.



















































