Restomax vs Upserve

Restomax is a Belgian point-of-sale ecosystem for restaurants and quick-service outlets. Upserve is a cloud restaurant POS running on iPad, with built-in payments, guest profiles, scheduling, analytics and add-ons for online ordering, gift cards and inventory. Both are listed under Restaurant POS. Where the profiles show a difference, it is in price, audience and countries covered.

Key differences

  • price

    Starting prices: Restomax at EUR 49 per month; Upserve at $59 (currency not stated) per month. The currency or billing basis differs, so they are not directly comparable.

  • audience

    Audience differs between the profiles. Listed by one product alone: Restomax: Table-service restaurants; Upserve: Full-service restaurants and bars.

  • countries covered

    On geography, Restomax names 2 countries and Upserve names 1 country. No country appears in every list.

  • integrations

    On integrations, Restomax names 31 integrations and Upserve names 2 integrations. 1 partner appears in every list.

  • company background

    By owner, Restomax (Group founded by Jan-Charles Van Hall and Maxence Janssis (EASY-SHOP, 2015), which took over Restomax in 2021) and Upserve (Skyview Equity (acquired Upserve in 2026, per its about page); previously Lightspeed (2020)).

Side by side

Restomax vs Upserve: side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldRestomaxUpserve
What it isRestomax is a Belgian point-of-sale ecosystem for restaurants and quick-service outlets.Upserve is a cloud restaurant POS running on iPad, with built-in payments, guest profiles, scheduling, analytics and add-ons for online ordering, gift cards and inventory.
Best forTable-service restaurants; Fast food and food trucks; Belgian and French-speaking hospitalityFull-service restaurants and bars; New or single-location restaurants; Growing multi-location groups
Pricing modelSubscription per device and moduleSubscription per location plus card processing
Starting priceEUR 49 per month$59 (currency not stated) per month
Free planNot publishedYes
Free trialNot publishedNot published
Contract24 months (standard); 36 or 48 months offeredNot published
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb, iOS, Android
CountriesBelgium, FranceUnited States
LanguagesDutch, English, FrenchNot published
Number of integrations312
CertificationsNot publishedNot published
Security practicesSCE/GKS 2.0 certified (Belgian fiscal cash register system)Not published
FoundedNot published2009
HeadquartersIxelles, BelgiumNot published
OwnerGroup founded by Jan-Charles Van Hall and Maxence Janssis (EASY-SHOP, 2015), which took over Restomax in 2021Skyview Equity (acquired Upserve in 2026, per its about page); previously Lightspeed (2020)
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

Named by both

  • Adyen

Named only by Restomax

  • Appetito
  • Axepta BNP Paribas
  • Barestho
  • Cashdro
  • Chift
  • Como
  • Custocentrix
  • Deliverect
  • Deliveroo
  • Ethik
  • Exact
  • Glory
and 18 more
  • Grainz
  • Growzer
  • Horeko
  • Horus
  • Hubrise
  • Joyn
  • Mettler Toledo
  • Odoo
  • Ohaus
  • Sage BOB
  • Sayl
  • Shyfter
  • Strobbo
  • Uber Eats
  • Viva.com
  • Winbooks
  • Worldline
  • Yavin

Named only by Upserve

  • Epson KDS

Which to choose

Restomax

Choose Restomax if you fit its listed audience: Table-service restaurants; Fast food and food trucks; Belgian and French-speaking hospitality.

Upserve

Choose Upserve if you are in one of these groups: Full-service restaurants and bars; New or single-location restaurants; Growing multi-location groups.

What we could not confirm

Restomax

  • Prices for licence-only plans without hardware
  • Auto-renewal terms
  • Legal entity name and funding
  • Team size
  • Full customer list

Upserve

  • Price of the Pro plan (custom)
  • Currency (dollar sign only)
  • Contract term and renewal
  • Headquarters, legal entity and team size
  • Full list of third-party integrations (partners page names none)
  • Security certifications
  • Interface languages