Upserve
Upserve is a cloud restaurant POS running on iPad, with built-in payments, guest profiles, scheduling, analytics and add-ons for online ordering, gift cards and inventory. It has a free Go plan and paid Core and Pro plans. The company began as Swipely, was acquired by Lightspeed in 2020 and, according to its about page, by Skyview Equity in 2026.
Acquired by Lightspeed from Vista Equity Partners (completed 1 Dec 2020); Lightspeed announced sale of Upserve to Skyview Equity on 29 Apr 2026. Site still operates as Upserve. Formerly Breadcrumb POS (acquired by Swipely from Groupon in 2016, rebranded Upserve).
Last reviewed

- Best for
- Full-service restaurants and bars, New or single-location restaurants
- Pricing
- From $59 per month (currency not stated)
- Runs on
- iOS, Android, Web
Who it is for
Full-service restaurants and bars
Built for table service, with floor plans, courses, split checks, bar tabs and Tableside handhelds.
New or single-location restaurants
The Go plan has no monthly fee; per the vendor, card processing on it is priced at 3.09% + 15 cents.
Growing multi-location groups
The Pro plan adds a multi-location dashboard, consolidated analytics and inventory.
What it does
Cloud POS for full service
Dine-in, bar tabs, takeaway and phone orders, split checks, check transfers, course firing and hold-and-fire.
Offline mode
Staff keep building checks, taking card payments and printing receipts when the internet drops; data syncs back afterwards.
Training Mode
A sandbox on the restaurant's real menu so new staff can practise before live service.
Visual floor plan
Drag-and-drop table layout with live zone tiles and time since seated on every table.
Tableside POS
Handheld ordering and payment at the table, with Mobile Tap card acceptance.
Guest Book
Builds a guest profile from card payments with spend, visits and favourite items, plus automatic guest lists such as top spenders.
Shift Prep
Predicts tonight's covers from reservations, past results, holidays and weather, and shows VIP preferences.
Daily Digest and Logbook
A daily email summarising sales, labour, menu performance and manager notes, plus a customisable shift logbook.
Menu Insights and analytics
Shows which dishes sell and which bring guests back; the full reporting suite is on the Pro plan.
Scheduling and payroll sync
Schedule builder, labour costing and payroll sync on the Core plan and above.
Online ordering
Pickup, delivery, curbside and dine-in orders that flow into the POS, with promo codes and scheduled orders; add-on on Core, built in on Pro.
Gift cards
Physical and digital gift cards integrated into the POS, with no transaction fees stated.
Upserve Live app
iOS and Android app showing live sales, labour cost, discounts, guests and 86'd items for one or several locations.
Inventory management
Available as an add-on on Core and included on Pro.
Pricing
- Starting price
- From $59 per month (currency not stated)
- Pricing model
- Subscription per location plus card processing
- Free plan
- Yes
Go is $0 per month with 3.09% + 15 cents card processing. Core is $59 per month with 2.49% + 15 cents processing and adds scheduling, Upserve Intelligence and guest segmentation. Pro is custom priced with a custom processing rate. Online ordering, inventory and Tableside are add-ons on Core. Hardware is sold separately. The dollar sign is shown without naming the currency; the site addresses U.S. restaurants. Price basis detail: per month (Core plan).
How it compares
Compared with the 235 products in Restaurant POS that have a profile on this site. These figures describe the category. They are not a recommendation.
- Names 2 integrations. The median in this category is 8.
- Has a free plan. 28 of the 50 products in this category that say whether they have a free plan do.
- One of 110 products in this category with an iOS app. One of 116 products in this category with an Android app. 218 products in this category state their platforms.
Works with
- Other
- Epson KDS
- Payments
- Adyen
The partners page is a partner sign-up form and lists no integration names.
Where and how it runs
- Customers in
- United States
- Platforms
- iOS, Android, Web
- Apps
- Upserve Live: Live sales, labour and guest performance for owners
- Hardware
- The POS runs on iPad; compatible existing iPads may be reused. Upserve sells POS terminals, Tableside handhelds, Mobile Tap card readers, printers, Epson kitchen display systems and networking gear.
The vendor says it serves independent restaurants across the U.S.; it does not publish a country list.
The company
- Founded
- 2009
- Customers named by the vendor
- Duro, Empty Stomach, Rodizio Grill, Hall Management Group, Urban Restaurant Group, The h.wood Group, Delilah, Crystal Cove, River Jetty Restaurant Group
Security and support
- Support
- Support by chat, phone or email is stated as available 24/7/365, with personalised onboarding and professional installation.
Listing details
- Vendor
- Lightspeed Commerce
- Headquarters
- United States
- Built for
- Restaurants
- Focus
- Food-specific
- Status
- Acquired
- Website
- upserve.com
Alternatives to Upserve
See all 276 in Restaurant POSRPOWER POS
RPOWER POS is restaurant point of sale software that runs on a hybrid cloud and local system, with table-service, quick-service, bar and delivery features.
Names 20 integrations, against 2 for Upserve.
Clover
Clover is a point-of-sale and payments system sold as hardware plus a software plan, with restaurant versions for quick-service, full-service and multi-location operators.
Runs on Web, against Web, iOS and Android for Upserve.
Square for Restaurants
Square for Restaurants is a cloud point of sale and payments system for food businesses, from food trucks and coffee shops to full-service restaurants, bars and multi-location groups.
Names 3 integrations, against 2 for Upserve.
Oolio
Oolio is a hospitality technology group that sells a cloud POS and payments platform, Oolio One, alongside kitchen displays, kiosks, QR and online ordering, loyalty and reporting.
Runs on Web, against Web, iOS and Android for Upserve.
Compare Upserve
Side-by-side tables built from the same profile data.
What we could not confirm
These points were not confirmed when this page was written.
- Price of the Pro plan (custom)
- Currency (dollar sign only)
- Contract term and renewal
- Headquarters, legal entity and team size
- Full list of third-party integrations (partners page names none)
- Security certifications
- Interface languages
Sources
Facts on this page come from the pages below, checked on 29 September 2026. Prices and features change, so confirm with the vendor before you buy.
- Home, support and onboarding, customershttps://upserve.com
- Plans and priceshttps://www.upserve.com/pricing
- POS featureshttps://www.upserve.com/products/point-of-sale
- Daily Digest, Logbookhttps://www.upserve.com/products/restaurant-management
- Guest Book, Shift Prephttps://www.upserve.com/products/guest-insights
- Online orderinghttps://www.upserve.com/products/online-ordering
- Mobile apphttps://www.upserve.com/products/upserve-live
- Hardware, Adyenhttps://www.upserve.com/hardware
- Gift cards, Epson KDShttps://www.upserve.com/products/add-ons-more
- Partner programme formhttps://www.upserve.com/partners
- History and ownershiphttps://www.upserve.com/resources/about-us