Square for Restaurants vs Upserve
Square for Restaurants is a cloud point of sale and payments system for food businesses, from food trucks and coffee shops to full-service restaurants, bars and multi-location groups. Upserve is a cloud restaurant POS running on iPad, with built-in payments, guest profiles, scheduling, analytics and add-ons for online ordering, gift cards and inventory. Both are listed under Restaurant POS. Where the profiles show a difference, it is in price, audience and countries covered.
Key differences
price
The vendors price on different terms. Square for Restaurants at USD 49 per location per month; Upserve at $59 (currency not stated) per month. The amounts cannot be compared directly.
audience
Audience differs between the profiles. Listed by one product alone: Square for Restaurants: Small and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars; Upserve: New or single-location restaurants.
countries covered
Square for Restaurants names 8 countries and Upserve names 1 country. 1 country appears in every list.
integrations
Square for Restaurants names 3 integrations and Upserve names 2 integrations. No partner appears in every list.
company background
By owner, Square for Restaurants (Block, Inc. (Square, Inc. changed its name to Block, Inc. in 2021)) and Upserve (Skyview Equity (acquired Upserve in 2026, per its about page); previously Lightspeed (2020)).
Side by side
| Field | Square for Restaurants | Upserve |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Square for Restaurants is a cloud point of sale and payments system for food businesses, from food trucks and coffee shops to full-service restaurants, bars and multi-location groups. | Upserve is a cloud restaurant POS running on iPad, with built-in payments, guest profiles, scheduling, analytics and add-ons for online ordering, gift cards and inventory. |
| Best for | Small and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars; Quick-service and coffee shops; Full-service restaurants and bars; Franchises and multi-location groups | Full-service restaurants and bars; New or single-location restaurants; Growing multi-location groups |
| Pricing model | Subscription per location plus percentage of sales | Subscription per location plus card processing |
| Starting price | USD 49 per location per month | $59 (currency not stated) per month |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | Yes | Not published |
| Contract | None stated (the vendor says no locked-in contracts; cancel or switch anytime) | Not published |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
| Countries | Australia, Canada, France, Ireland, Japan, Spain and 2 more | United States |
| Languages | Not published | Not published |
| Number of integrations | 3 | 2 |
| Certifications | PCI compliant | Not published |
| Security practices | Not published | Not published |
| Founded | 2009 | 2009 |
| Headquarters | Not published | Not published |
| Owner | Block, Inc. (Square, Inc. changed its name to Block, Inc. in 2021) | Skyview Equity (acquired Upserve in 2026, per its about page); previously Lightspeed (2020) |
| Last reviewed | 29 September 2026 | 29 September 2026 |
Integrations
No partner appears in every list.
Named only by Square for Restaurants
- DoorDash
- MarketMan
- Uber Eats
Named only by Upserve
- Adyen
- Epson KDS
Which to choose
Square for Restaurants
Choose Square for Restaurants if you fit its listed audience: Small and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars; Quick-service and coffee shops; Full-service restaurants and bars.
Upserve
Choose Upserve if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Full-service restaurants and bars; New or single-location restaurants; Growing multi-location groups.
What we could not confirm
Square for Restaurants
- Headquarters, founders and employee count (not stated on Square's site)
- Length of the free trial on paid plans
- Full integration list: accounting, payroll and reservation integrations are not confirmed
- Which restaurant features and prices apply outside the United States
- Interface languages
- Independent security certifications beyond PCI compliance
- Availability of restaurant features and pricing by country
Upserve
- Price of the Pro plan (custom)
- Currency (dollar sign only)
- Contract term and renewal
- Headquarters, legal entity and team size
- Full list of third-party integrations (partners page names none)
- Security certifications
- Interface languages
Go further
Other comparisons with these products
Sources
Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.
Square for Restaurants, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Product overview and customer quoteshttps://squareup.com/us/en/restaurants
- Capabilities list, delivery partnershttps://squareup.com/us/en/restaurants/capabilities
- Restaurant POS features, hardware, customershttps://squareup.com/us/en/point-of-sale/restaurants
- Plans, fees, per-location pricinghttps://squareup.com/us/en/pricing
- Company history, countries served, Block name changehttps://squareup.com/us/en/about
- PCI compliancehttps://squareup.com/us/en/payments/secure
- Hardware rangehttps://squareup.com/us/en/hardware
- iOS app listinghttps://apps.apple.com/us/app/square-point-of-sale-pos/id335393788
- Google Play listinghttps://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.squareup
Upserve, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Home, support and onboarding, customershttps://upserve.com
- Plans and priceshttps://www.upserve.com/pricing
- POS featureshttps://www.upserve.com/products/point-of-sale
- Daily Digest, Logbookhttps://www.upserve.com/products/restaurant-management
- Guest Book, Shift Prephttps://www.upserve.com/products/guest-insights
- Online orderinghttps://www.upserve.com/products/online-ordering
- Mobile apphttps://www.upserve.com/products/upserve-live
- Hardware, Adyenhttps://www.upserve.com/hardware
- Gift cards, Epson KDShttps://www.upserve.com/products/add-ons-more
- Partner programme formhttps://www.upserve.com/partners
- History and ownershiphttps://www.upserve.com/resources/about-us
