Clover vs RPOWER POS vs Square for Restaurants vs Upserve

Clover is a point-of-sale and payments system sold as hardware plus a software plan, with restaurant versions for quick-service, full-service and multi-location operators. RPOWER POS is restaurant point of sale software that runs on a hybrid cloud and local system, with table-service, quick-service, bar and delivery features. Square for Restaurants is a cloud point of sale and payments system for food businesses, from food trucks and coffee shops to full-service restaurants, bars and multi-location groups. Upserve is a cloud restaurant POS running on iPad, with built-in payments, guest profiles, scheduling, analytics and add-ons for online ordering, gift cards and inventory. All four are listed under Restaurant POS. Where the profiles show a difference, it is in price, audience and countries covered.

Key differences

  • price

    Starting prices: Square for Restaurants at USD 49 per location per month; Upserve at $59 (currency not stated) per month. The currency or billing basis differs, so they are not directly comparable. Clover and RPOWER POS do not publish a starting price.

  • audience

    Not every audience is shared. Entries that only one product lists: Clover: Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators; RPOWER POS: Quick-service and pick-up and delivery; Square for Restaurants: Small and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars; Upserve: New or single-location restaurants.

  • countries covered

    Country coverage differs. Clover names 5 countries, RPOWER POS names 1 country, Square for Restaurants names 8 countries and Upserve names 1 country. 1 country appears in every list.

  • integrations

    On integrations, Clover names 6 integrations, RPOWER POS names 20 integrations, Square for Restaurants names 3 integrations and Upserve names 2 integrations. No partner appears in every list.

Side by side

Clover vs RPOWER POS vs Square for Restaurants vs Upserve: side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldCloverRPOWER POSSquare for RestaurantsUpserve
What it isClover is a point-of-sale and payments system sold as hardware plus a software plan, with restaurant versions for quick-service, full-service and multi-location operators.RPOWER POS is restaurant point of sale software that runs on a hybrid cloud and local system, with table-service, quick-service, bar and delivery features.Square for Restaurants is a cloud point of sale and payments system for food businesses, from food trucks and coffee shops to full-service restaurants, bars and multi-location groups.Upserve is a cloud restaurant POS running on iPad, with built-in payments, guest profiles, scheduling, analytics and add-ons for online ordering, gift cards and inventory.
Best forFull-service restaurants and bars; Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators; Small operators who want packaged hardware; Growing multi-location restaurant brandsFull-service restaurants and bars; Quick-service and pick-up and delivery; Multi-store operatorsSmall and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars; Quick-service and coffee shops; Full-service restaurants and bars; Franchises and multi-location groupsFull-service restaurants and bars; New or single-location restaurants; Growing multi-location groups
Pricing modelSubscription plus percentage of card salesQuote onlySubscription per location plus percentage of salesSubscription per location plus card processing
Starting priceNot publishedNot publishedUSD 49 per location per month$59 (currency not stated) per month
Free planNot publishedNot publishedYesYes
Free trialNot publishedNot publishedYesNot published
ContractA 3-year contract applies to the hardware promotion offer (per its terms); other contract terms are not stated on the vendor's site.Not publishedNone stated (the vendor says no locked-in contracts; cancel or switch anytime)Not published
PlatformsWebNot publishedWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb, iOS, Android
CountriesAustralia, Canada, Singapore, United Kingdom, United StatesUnited StatesAustralia, Canada, France, Ireland, Japan, Spain and 2 moreUnited States
LanguagesEnglish, French (Canada)Not publishedNot publishedNot published
Number of integrations62032
CertificationsNot publishedPCI compliantPCI compliantNot published
Security practicesClover Security Plus: end-to-end encryption, tokenisation and PCI compliance tools (optional)Not publishedNot publishedNot published
FoundedNot published199220092009
HeadquartersNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
OwnerNot publishedNot publishedBlock, Inc. (Square, Inc. changed its name to Block, Inc. in 2021)Skyview Equity (acquired Upserve in 2026, per its about page); previously Lightspeed (2020)
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 202629 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

No partner appears in every list.

Named only by Clover

  • Menufy
  • Shopify
  • Xero
  • Yelp

Named only by RPOWER POS

  • ChefTec
  • Datacap
  • GiveX
  • Grubhub
  • HotSchedules
  • MarginEdge
  • Micros Fidelio
  • Olo
  • Paychex
  • Paycom
  • Paylocity
  • Paytronix
and 4 more
  • Restaurant365
  • Sage Intacct
  • TSYS
  • Worldpay

Named only by Square for Restaurants

  • MarketMan

Named only by Upserve

  • Adyen
  • Epson KDS

Which to choose

Clover

Choose Clover if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Full-service restaurants and bars; Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators; Small operators who want packaged hardware.

RPOWER POS

Choose RPOWER POS if you are in one of these groups: Full-service restaurants and bars; Quick-service and pick-up and delivery; Multi-store operators.

Square for Restaurants

Choose Square for Restaurants if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Small and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars; Quick-service and coffee shops; Full-service restaurants and bars.

Upserve

Choose Upserve if you fit its listed audience: Full-service restaurants and bars; New or single-location restaurants; Growing multi-location groups.

What we could not confirm

Clover

  • Monthly software prices and device prices (not shown in page text)
  • Contract length and termination fees outside the promotion terms
  • Parent company, headquarters, founding year, founders and employee count (not on the vendor's site)
  • Which countries the restaurant product is sold in (inferred from regional sites only)
  • Mobile app store listings
  • Full list of integrations, including named delivery apps
  • Independent security certifications beyond PCI-related tools

RPOWER POS

  • Prices, contract terms and hardware models
  • Headquarters and team size
  • Funding and ownership
  • Countries beyond the United States
  • Mobile or desktop platforms the software runs on
  • Interface languages
  • Full integration list (the vendor shows logos without names)

Square for Restaurants

  • Headquarters, founders and employee count (not stated on Square's site)
  • Length of the free trial on paid plans
  • Full integration list: accounting, payroll and reservation integrations are not confirmed
  • Which restaurant features and prices apply outside the United States
  • Interface languages
  • Independent security certifications beyond PCI compliance
  • Availability of restaurant features and pricing by country

Upserve

  • Price of the Pro plan (custom)
  • Currency (dollar sign only)
  • Contract term and renewal
  • Headquarters, legal entity and team size
  • Full list of third-party integrations (partners page names none)
  • Security certifications
  • Interface languages

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.

Clover, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Restaurant overview and deviceshttps://www.clover.com/pos-solutions/restaurant
  2. Pricing overview, promotions, supporthttps://www.clover.com/pricing
  3. Full-service restaurant plan comparisonhttps://www.clover.com/pricing/restaurant
  4. Built-in apps and integrationshttps://www.clover.com/pos-systems/apps
  5. Kitchen display systemhttps://www.clover.com/kitchen-display-system
  6. Multi-location restaurantshttps://www.clover.com/pos-solutions/multi-location-restaurants
  7. Security Plushttps://www.clover.com/security
  8. Customer case studieshttps://www.clover.com/case-studies
  9. Regional site versionshttps://www.clover.com/sitemap.xml

RPOWER POS, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepagehttps://www.rpowerpos.com/
  2. History, scale claimshttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/About-Us
  3. POS features by segmenthttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/Market-Vertical/Restaurant-POS-System
  4. Pay at tablehttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/OmniTab
  5. Payments and securityhttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/Payment-Solutions
  6. Offline modehttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/Offline-Mode
  7. KDShttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/Kitchen-Display-System
  8. Online orderinghttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/Online-Ordering
  9. Accounting, payroll, inventoryhttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/Restaurant-Accounting
  10. Reportinghttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/RPOWER-Reporting-and-Analytics
  11. Integration logoshttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Marketing/Integration/Integrations-And-Partners
  12. Customershttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Marketing/Media/Case-Studies
  13. Reseller modelhttps://www.rpowerpos.com/Home/Reseller-Program

Square for Restaurants, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Product overview and customer quoteshttps://squareup.com/us/en/restaurants
  2. Capabilities list, delivery partnershttps://squareup.com/us/en/restaurants/capabilities
  3. Restaurant POS features, hardware, customershttps://squareup.com/us/en/point-of-sale/restaurants
  4. Plans, fees, per-location pricinghttps://squareup.com/us/en/pricing
  5. Company history, countries served, Block name changehttps://squareup.com/us/en/about
  6. PCI compliancehttps://squareup.com/us/en/payments/secure
  7. Hardware rangehttps://squareup.com/us/en/hardware
  8. iOS app listinghttps://apps.apple.com/us/app/square-point-of-sale-pos/id335393788
  9. Google Play listinghttps://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.squareup