Clover
Clover is a point-of-sale and payments system sold as hardware plus a software plan, with restaurant versions for quick-service, full-service and multi-location operators. It covers order taking, table mapping, kitchen display, kiosks, online ordering, reporting, staff shifts and an app market. Merchants normally take card payments through Clover's own processing, and the vendor sells its devices online and through sales staff.
Last reviewed
- Best for
- Full-service restaurants and bars, Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators
- Pricing
- Subscription plus percentage of card sales
- Runs on
- Web
Who it is for
Full-service restaurants and bars
Table mapping, coursing, bill splitting, open tabs with card pre-authorisation and tableside ordering on a handheld.
Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators
Counter POS, self-order kiosk, kitchen display and commission-free online ordering.
Small operators who want packaged hardware
Devices, cash drawer and receipt printer come bundled with a software plan; the vendor advertises free overnight shipping on online orders.
Growing multi-location restaurant brands
A guest ordering, loyalty and payments platform that the vendor says works with Clover POS or with other POS systems, from global to store-level menus and offers.
What it does
Order taking and firing
Take and modify orders and fire them to the kitchen from a counter or tableside device.
Table mapping and seating
Maps tables and manages seating and waitstaff with Clover Dining.
Open tabs and bill splitting
Open tabs with card pre-authorisation and split bills, with item and order-level discounts.
Contactless dining
QR-code order and pay, and Scan-to-Pay on receipts.
Kitchen display system
One screen for on-premise and third-party orders with ticket times and prep-time reporting; runner tickets can print from the KDS.
Self-order kiosk
Customers order and pay on a commercial display with payment terminal; menus sync from the POS.
Online ordering
Commission-free online ordering with a Clover online menu page, pickup and delivery order types and links to third-party delivery apps.
Menu management
Item and category management, modifiers, stock tracking and marking items sold out.
Payments
Cards by tap, swipe or dip, mobile wallets, PayPal and Venmo, keyed-in payments and cash or check.
Tipping
Tipping is included on all restaurant plans.
Tracking and reporting
Real-time sales tracking, detailed sales and tax reports and cost tracking by item.
Employee logins and shift management
Individual logins with permissions and shift management; a Time Clock app handles schedules and time off.
Loyalty, promos and feedback
Built-in apps for rewards, promotions, happy-hour discounts and customer feedback.
Rapid Deposit
The vendor says funds arrive within minutes of a card sale, for a 1.75% fee.
Clover Capital
An advance of funds repaid through card sales.
App market
Add third-party apps for orders, payroll, inventory, accounting and back office.
Security Plus
Optional end-to-end encryption, tokenisation and PCI compliance tools with a breach liability waiver.
Pricing
- Pricing model
- Subscription plus percentage of card sales
- Minimum contract
- A 3-year contract applies to the hardware promotion offer (per its terms); other contract terms are not stated on the vendor's site.
Clover sells restaurant systems in three tiers (Starter, Standard, Advanced), each with a Restaurant Growth software plan and its own device mix. The prices themselves did not appear in the page text, which says prices are only available on Clover.com. The pricing page says card rates start as low as 2.3% + 10 cents per transaction. Rapid Deposit costs 1.75%. Payroll integrations are an optional add-on. A promotion offers a 90-day trial of certain plans for selected business types.
How it compares
Compared with the 235 products in Restaurant POS that have a profile on this site. These figures describe the category. They are not a recommendation.
- Names 6 integrations. The median in this category is 8.
- Lists Web only. Among the 218 products in this category that state their platforms, 110 list an iOS app and 116 list an Android app.
- The category's 10 most-named integration partners are Uber Eats, DoorDash, QuickBooks, Xero, Deliverect, Deliveroo, Grubhub, Glovo, Stripe, OpenTable. Of these, this product's listing names QuickBooks, Xero.
Where and how it runs
- Customers in
- United States, Canada, Australia, Singapore, United Kingdom
- Languages
- English, French (Canada)
- Platforms
- Web
- Apps
- Clover Go: Phone-based card reader app
- Hardware
- Clover sells its own devices: Station Solo, Station Duo, Mini, Flex, Flex Pocket, Go card reader, Kiosk and Kitchen Display System, plus a cash drawer and receipt printer. The KDS is built for kitchens with a heat tolerance up to 122°F.
Clover does not state its markets on the vendor's site. This list is inferred from its regional website versions (US, Canada in English and French, Australia, Singapore, and a UK-English set of pages).
The company
- Company
- Clover Network, LLC
- Customers named by the vendor
- My NY Sports Pizza, Out the Dough, Walrus Ice Cream
Security and support
- Security and compliance
- Clover Security Plus: end-to-end encryption, tokenisation and PCI compliance tools (optional)
- Support
- Sales consultants help set up the system, and the vendor lists 24/7/365 support for troubleshooting. Sales phone (844) 291-1950.
Listing details
- Vendor
- Fiserv
- Headquarters
- United States
- Built for
- Bakeries, Bars, Cafés, Food trucks, Restaurants, Food retail
- Focus
- General-purpose, used in food businesses
- Status
- Active
- Website
- clover.com
Alternatives to Clover
See all 276 in Restaurant POSEpos Now
Epos Now is a cloud point of sale for hospitality and retail, sold as a bundle of touchscreen till, card terminal, receipt printer and software, with its own payment processing and an app store of add-ons.
Runs on Web and iOS, against Web for Clover.
Square for Restaurants
Square for Restaurants is a cloud point of sale and payments system for food businesses, from food trucks and coffee shops to full-service restaurants, bars and multi-location groups.
Runs on Web, iOS and Android, against Web for Clover.
Lightspeed Restaurant
Lightspeed Restaurant is a cloud point of sale for restaurants, bars, cafes and hotel restaurants, run mainly on iPads.
Runs on iOS, against Web for Clover.
Bepoz
Bepoz is point-of-sale software for restaurants, bars, retail shops and mixed venues, including hotels, casinos, stadiums, hospitals and universities.
Runs on Windows, against Web for Clover.
Compare Clover
What we could not confirm
These points were not confirmed when this page was written.
- Monthly software prices and device prices (not shown in page text)
- Contract length and termination fees outside the promotion terms
- Parent company, headquarters, founding year, founders and employee count (not on the vendor's site)
- Which countries the restaurant product is sold in (inferred from regional sites only)
- Mobile app store listings
- Full list of integrations, including named delivery apps
- Independent security certifications beyond PCI-related tools
Sources
Facts on this page come from the pages below, checked on 29 September 2026. Prices and features change, so confirm with the vendor before you buy.
- Restaurant overview and deviceshttps://www.clover.com/pos-solutions/restaurant
- Pricing overview, promotions, supporthttps://www.clover.com/pricing
- Full-service restaurant plan comparisonhttps://www.clover.com/pricing/restaurant
- Built-in apps and integrationshttps://www.clover.com/pos-systems/apps
- Kitchen display systemhttps://www.clover.com/kitchen-display-system
- Multi-location restaurantshttps://www.clover.com/pos-solutions/multi-location-restaurants
- Security Plushttps://www.clover.com/security
- Customer case studieshttps://www.clover.com/case-studies
- Regional site versionshttps://www.clover.com/sitemap.xml