Lightspeed Restaurant

Lightspeed Restaurant is a cloud point of sale for restaurants, bars, cafes and hotel restaurants, run mainly on iPads. It covers ordering, floor plans, payments, inventory, kitchen displays, online and tableside ordering, reporting and multi-location menu management, with add-ons for delivery, accounting, reservations and payroll. It is sold in tiered subscription plans, plus a quote-based Enterprise option.

Last reviewed

Visit website
Best for
Single-location restaurants, Multi-location restaurant groups
Pricing
Subscription (tiered plans) plus quote-based Enterprise
Runs on
iOS

Who it is for

  • Single-location restaurants

    The vendor points single sites with straightforward operations to its Starter plan.

  • Multi-location restaurant groups

    One platform for menus, guest data and reports across locations; menu changes sync between sites, with location-specific adjustments allowed.

  • Hotel restaurants

    Connects to a hotel property management system and supports multiple revenue centres and charge-to-room.

  • Bars, cafes, breweries and fine dining

    The vendor has separate pages for each business type, so it positions the POS for these concepts as well as full-service restaurants.

What it does

  • Customisable POS and floor plans

    Menus, screens and floor plans can be set up around a restaurant's own workflow.

  • Bill splitting and flexible billing

    Bills can be divided, grouped and moved between seats.

  • Offline mode

    The POS keeps taking orders without internet and uploads the data when the connection returns; back-office master data changes need a connection.

  • Online, contactless and QR ordering

    Guests can order online, at the table from their phone, or by scanning a QR code (Order Anywhere).

  • Tableside ordering

    Staff take orders on a lightweight handheld that sends them to the kitchen or bar.

  • Lightspeed Payments

    An embedded payment processor with flat-rate pricing, paid out from the back office.

  • Inventory management

    Tracks stock to ingredient level, deducts as items sell, calculates recipe costs and margins, and automates recurring supplier orders.

  • Kitchen display system

    Screens show all tickets in one place and how long dishes take to prepare; priced per screen.

  • Advanced Insights reporting

    Reports on menu performance, repeat guests and server performance.

  • Locations Manager

    Menus are created once and synced across locations, which the vendor says takes about 5 seconds.

  • Delivery order consolidation

    Delivery orders from third-party apps arrive on one screen via Lightspeed Delivery by Deliverect.

  • Accounting sync

    Sends sales data from the back office to accounting software on a daily or weekly schedule.

  • Reservations

    Takes bookings from a website widget and Google Search and Maps and manages them from the POS floor plan; listed as an add-on.

  • Workforce and payroll via 7shifts

    Scheduling, labour forecasting, tip management and time clocking through a 7shifts sync; payroll is for US businesses only.

  • Clock in and out and staff permissions

    Staff clock in and out, and each user sees only what their permissions allow.

  • Hotel PMS integration

    Connects the POS to a hotel property management system.

  • Gift cards

    Gift cards valid across all locations, redeemable by QR code.

Pricing

Pricing model
Subscription (tiered plans) plus quote-based Enterprise

The US pricing page lists three plans: Starter at 69 USD, Essential at 189 USD and Premium at 399 USD; the page text does not state the billing period. A kitchen display costs $30 per screen per month on each plan. Enterprise is a custom quote. Prices may vary by business type. Reservations, delivery, accounting and gift cards are add-ons or extra tools. No starting price is recorded because the billing basis is not stated.

How it compares

Compared with the 235 products in Restaurant POS that have a profile on this site. These figures describe the category. They are not a recommendation.

  • Names 19 integrations. The median in this category is 8.
  • One of 110 products in this category with an iOS app. 218 products in this category state their platforms.
  • The category's 10 most-named integration partners are Uber Eats, DoorDash, QuickBooks, Xero, Deliverect, Deliveroo, Grubhub, Glovo, Stripe, OpenTable. Of these, this product's listing names Uber Eats, QuickBooks, Xero, OpenTable.

Works with

Delivery
Uber EatsUber DirectLightspeed Delivery by DeliverectOtter
Other
FreshCloudbedsMEWSOracle Opera Cloud Hospitality
Scheduling
7shiftsPlanday

The list is taken from the marketplace for the K Series edition of Lightspeed Restaurant. Lightspeed has three restaurant editions (K, L and U Series), each with its own integration list, and the page names more partners than are listed here.

Where and how it runs

Available in
United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Mexico, France, Switzerland, Norway, Spain
Languages
English, French, Dutch, German, Spanish, Norwegian
Platforms
iOS
Apps
Lightspeed Pulse: Mobile app listed on the pricing page
Hardware
Lightspeed sells an iPad hardware kit (receipt printer, cash drawer, iPad stand, kitchen printer; iPad and payment terminal not included), plus Verifone e285 and P400 payment terminals, Mobile Tap, kitchen display screens, barcode scanner and tableside cases.

Taken from the country and language selector on the vendor's site; the vendor also says it serves businesses in over 100 countries.

The company

Headquarters
Montreal, Canada
Customers named by the vendor
Caffè Napoli, Bocca, Thunderbird Chicken, Absurd Bird, Gongfu Bao, Wander the Resort

Security and support

Security and compliance
PCI-compliant payment terminals and transactions
Support
The vendor offers 24/7 phone, text and email support, a help centre and community forum, free live online training, one-on-one onboarding and data migration help. Enterprise adds a dedicated support team and customer success manager.

Listing details

Vendor
Lightspeed Commerce
Built for
Bars, Cafés, Hotel F&B, Restaurants
Focus
Food-specific
Status
Active
Website
lightspeedhq.com

Alternatives to Lightspeed Restaurant

See all 276 in Restaurant POS
  • SpotOn Restaurant

    SpotOn is a cloud-based point-of-sale system and restaurant management platform.

    Runs on Web, iOS and Android, against iOS for Lightspeed Restaurant.

  • Tabit

    Tabit is a cloud, mobile-first point-of-sale platform for full-service restaurants, restaurant chains and hotel restaurants.

    Runs on Web, against iOS for Lightspeed Restaurant.

  • SkyTab

    SkyTab is now presented as Shift4 Dine, a restaurant point of sale from Shift4 with its own hardware, built-in payment processing, online and QR ordering, reservations, loyalty, labour scheduling and cloud reporting.

    Runs on Web, iOS and Android, against iOS for Lightspeed Restaurant.

  • Harbortouch POS

    Harbortouch was rebranded as SkyTab, and SkyTab is now sold as Shift4 Dine, a restaurant point-of-sale platform from Shift4.

    Names 18 integrations, against 19 for Lightspeed Restaurant.

What we could not confirm

These points were not confirmed when this page was written.

  • Billing period of the Starter, Essential and Premium prices, and which features each plan includes (the comparison ticks are not in the page text)
  • Contract length and cancellation terms
  • Payment processing rates
  • Full integration list for L Series and U Series editions
  • Legal entity, founding year, funding and employee count
  • Security certifications beyond PCI compliance
  • Whether an Android or web POS client exists