Clover vs Epos Now vs Lightspeed Restaurant vs Square for Restaurants
Clover is a point-of-sale and payments system sold as hardware plus a software plan, with restaurant versions for quick-service, full-service and multi-location operators. Epos Now is a cloud point of sale for hospitality and retail, sold as a bundle of touchscreen till, card terminal, receipt printer and software, with its own payment processing and an app store of add-ons. Lightspeed Restaurant is a cloud point of sale for restaurants, bars, cafes and hotel restaurants, run mainly on iPads. Square for Restaurants is a cloud point of sale and payments system for food businesses, from food trucks and coffee shops to full-service restaurants, bars and multi-location groups. All four are listed under Restaurant POS. They differ in price, audience and platforms.
Key differences
price
The vendors price on different terms. Epos Now at GBP 299 one-off; Square for Restaurants at USD 49 per location per month. The amounts cannot be compared directly. Clover and Lightspeed Restaurant do not publish a starting price.
audience
Not every audience is shared. Entries that only one product lists: Clover: Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators; Epos Now: Pubs, bars, cafes and takeaways; Lightspeed Restaurant: Single-location restaurants; Square for Restaurants: Small and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars.
platforms
Platform support differs. Clover: Web; Epos Now: Web, iOS; Lightspeed Restaurant: iOS; Square for Restaurants: Web, iOS, Android.
countries covered
Clover names 5 countries, Epos Now names 12 countries, Lightspeed Restaurant names 12 countries and Square for Restaurants names 8 countries. 4 countries appear in every list.
integrations
On integrations, Clover names 6 integrations, Epos Now names 12 integrations, Lightspeed Restaurant names 19 integrations and Square for Restaurants names 3 integrations. No partner appears in every list.
Side by side
| Field | Clover | Epos Now | Lightspeed Restaurant | Square for Restaurants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Clover is a point-of-sale and payments system sold as hardware plus a software plan, with restaurant versions for quick-service, full-service and multi-location operators. | Epos Now is a cloud point of sale for hospitality and retail, sold as a bundle of touchscreen till, card terminal, receipt printer and software, with its own payment processing and an app store of add-ons. | Lightspeed Restaurant is a cloud point of sale for restaurants, bars, cafes and hotel restaurants, run mainly on iPads. | Square for Restaurants is a cloud point of sale and payments system for food businesses, from food trucks and coffee shops to full-service restaurants, bars and multi-location groups. |
| Best for | Full-service restaurants and bars; Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators; Small operators who want packaged hardware; Growing multi-location restaurant brands | Pubs, bars, cafes and takeaways; Independent restaurants; Businesses running both retail and hospitality; Enterprise groups with several sites | Single-location restaurants; Multi-location restaurant groups; Hotel restaurants; Bars, cafes, breweries and fine dining | Small and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars; Quick-service and coffee shops; Full-service restaurants and bars; Franchises and multi-location groups |
| Pricing model | Subscription plus percentage of card sales | Hardware bundle plus subscription | Subscription (tiered plans) plus quote-based Enterprise | Subscription per location plus percentage of sales |
| Starting price | Not published | GBP 299 one-off | Not published | USD 49 per location per month |
| Free plan | Not published | No | Not published | Yes |
| Free trial | Not published | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Contract | A 3-year contract applies to the hardware promotion offer (per its terms); other contract terms are not stated on the vendor's site. | 12 months for the discounted Complete Solution bundle (payments, care and support subscription) | Not published | None stated (the vendor says no locked-in contracts; cancel or switch anytime) |
| Platforms | Web | Web, iOS | iOS | Web, iOS, Android |
| Countries | Australia, Canada, Singapore, United Kingdom, United States | Australia, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Malta, Mexico and 6 more | Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Mexico and 6 more | Australia, Canada, France, Ireland, Japan, Spain and 2 more |
| Languages | English, French (Canada) | English, German, Spanish | Dutch, English, French, German, Norwegian, Spanish | Not published |
| Number of integrations | 6 | 12 | 19 | 3 |
| Certifications | Not published | Not published | PCI compliant | PCI compliant |
| Security practices | Clover Security Plus: end-to-end encryption, tokenisation and PCI compliance tools (optional) | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Founded | Not published | 2011 | Not published | 2009 |
| Headquarters | Not published | Norwich, United Kingdom | Montreal, Canada | Not published |
| Owner | Not published | Not published | Not published | Block, Inc. (Square, Inc. changed its name to Block, Inc. in 2021) |
| Last reviewed | 29 September 2026 | 29 September 2026 | 29 September 2026 | 29 September 2026 |
Integrations
No partner appears in every list.
Named only by Clover
- ADP
- Menufy
- Yelp
Named only by Epos Now
- Caterbook
- Deliveroo
- Deputy
- Grateful
- LoyaltyDog
- Loyalzoo
- Mailchimp
- Yoello
Named only by Lightspeed Restaurant
- 7shifts
- Cloudbeds
- Craftable
- Fresh
- Lightspeed Delivery by Deliverect
- MarginEdge
- MEWS
- Oracle Opera Cloud Hospitality
- Otter
- Planday
- Restaurant365
- Resy
and 2 moreshow fewer
- Seven Rooms
- Uber Direct
Named only by Square for Restaurants
- DoorDash
Which to choose
Clover
Choose Clover if you are in one of these groups: Full-service restaurants and bars; Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators; Small operators who want packaged hardware.
Epos Now
Choose Epos Now if you are in one of these groups: Pubs, bars, cafes and takeaways; Independent restaurants; Businesses running both retail and hospitality.
Lightspeed Restaurant
Choose Lightspeed Restaurant if you are in one of these groups: Single-location restaurants; Multi-location restaurant groups; Hotel restaurants.
Square for Restaurants
Choose Square for Restaurants if you are in one of these groups: Small and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars; Quick-service and coffee shops; Full-service restaurants and bars.
What we could not confirm
Clover
- Monthly software prices and device prices (not shown in page text)
- Contract length and termination fees outside the promotion terms
- Parent company, headquarters, founding year, founders and employee count (not on the vendor's site)
- Which countries the restaurant product is sold in (inferred from regional sites only)
- Mobile app store listings
- Full list of integrations, including named delivery apps
- Independent security certifications beyond PCI-related tools
Epos Now
- Subscription price of software alone; only the bundle and the from-£54 subscription are published
- Contract terms beyond the 12-month bundle subscription
- Prices for non-UK countries
- Security certifications such as PCI DSS
- Equity funding and parent company
- Employee count
- Full integration list of 130+ apps
- Google Play listing
Lightspeed Restaurant
- Billing period of the Starter, Essential and Premium prices, and which features each plan includes (the comparison ticks are not in the page text)
- Contract length and cancellation terms
- Payment processing rates
- Full integration list for L Series and U Series editions
- Legal entity, founding year, funding and employee count
- Security certifications beyond PCI compliance
- Whether an Android or web POS client exists
Square for Restaurants
- Headquarters, founders and employee count (not stated on Square's site)
- Length of the free trial on paid plans
- Full integration list: accounting, payroll and reservation integrations are not confirmed
- Which restaurant features and prices apply outside the United States
- Interface languages
- Independent security certifications beyond PCI compliance
- Availability of restaurant features and pricing by country
Go further
Sources
Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.
Clover, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Restaurant overview and deviceshttps://www.clover.com/pos-solutions/restaurant
- Pricing overview, promotions, supporthttps://www.clover.com/pricing
- Full-service restaurant plan comparisonhttps://www.clover.com/pricing/restaurant
- Built-in apps and integrationshttps://www.clover.com/pos-systems/apps
- Kitchen display systemhttps://www.clover.com/kitchen-display-system
- Multi-location restaurantshttps://www.clover.com/pos-solutions/multi-location-restaurants
- Security Plushttps://www.clover.com/security
- Customer case studieshttps://www.clover.com/case-studies
- Regional site versionshttps://www.clover.com/sitemap.xml
Epos Now, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Homepagehttps://www.eposnow.com
- Hospitality POS, bundle pricehttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/systems/hospitality-pos/
- Restaurant POShttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/systems/hospitality-pos/restaurant/
- Software and appshttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/store/software/
- App directoryhttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/store/software/apps/
- KDShttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/store/software/apps/kitchen-display-system/
- Order & Payhttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/store/software/apps/order-and-pay/
- Pricinghttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/pricing/
- Abouthttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/contact-us/about/
- Legal entityhttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/contact-us/about/privacy-policy/
- Presshttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/press/
- Fundinghttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/press/uk-fintech-unicorn-epos-now-secures-%C2%A390m-to-accelerate-worldwide-growth/
- Scalehttps://www.eposnow.com/uk/press/epos-now-scales-revenue-to-150m/
- App Storehttps://apps.apple.com/gb/app/epos-now-pos-till/id907427782
Lightspeed Restaurant, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Product overview, FAQhttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/
- Plans and priceshttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/
- Feature listhttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/features/
- Hardwarehttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/hardware/
- Editions and country selectorhttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/integrations/
- Partner marketplace listhttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant-k-series/integrations/
- Multi-locationhttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/multilocation-restaurant-pos/
- Paymentshttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/payments/
- Inventoryhttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/inventory/
- Deliveryhttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/delivery/
- Accountinghttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/accounting/
- Workforce and payrollhttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/payroll/
- Reservationshttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/reservations/
- Support and traininghttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/support-onboarding/
- Headquarters, scalehttps://www.lightspeedhq.com/about/
Square for Restaurants, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Product overview and customer quoteshttps://squareup.com/us/en/restaurants
- Capabilities list, delivery partnershttps://squareup.com/us/en/restaurants/capabilities
- Restaurant POS features, hardware, customershttps://squareup.com/us/en/point-of-sale/restaurants
- Plans, fees, per-location pricinghttps://squareup.com/us/en/pricing
- Company history, countries served, Block name changehttps://squareup.com/us/en/about
- PCI compliancehttps://squareup.com/us/en/payments/secure
- Hardware rangehttps://squareup.com/us/en/hardware
- iOS app listinghttps://apps.apple.com/us/app/square-point-of-sale-pos/id335393788
- Google Play listinghttps://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.squareup
