Clover vs Upserve

Clover is a point-of-sale and payments system sold as hardware plus a software plan, with restaurant versions for quick-service, full-service and multi-location operators. Upserve is a cloud restaurant POS running on iPad, with built-in payments, guest profiles, scheduling, analytics and add-ons for online ordering, gift cards and inventory. Both are listed under Restaurant POS. Where the profiles show a difference, it is in price, audience and platforms.

Key differences

  • price

    The only starting price published is Upserve's: $59 (currency not stated) per month. Clover does not publish a starting price.

  • audience

    Audience differs between the profiles. Listed by one product alone: Clover: Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators; Upserve: New or single-location restaurants.

  • platforms

    Platform support differs. Clover: Web; Upserve: Web, iOS, Android.

  • countries covered

    Clover names 5 countries and Upserve names 1 country. 1 country appears in every list.

  • integrations

    The integration lists differ. Clover names 6 integrations and Upserve names 2 integrations. No partner appears in every list.

Side by side

Clover vs Upserve: side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldCloverUpserve
What it isClover is a point-of-sale and payments system sold as hardware plus a software plan, with restaurant versions for quick-service, full-service and multi-location operators.Upserve is a cloud restaurant POS running on iPad, with built-in payments, guest profiles, scheduling, analytics and add-ons for online ordering, gift cards and inventory.
Best forFull-service restaurants and bars; Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators; Small operators who want packaged hardware; Growing multi-location restaurant brandsFull-service restaurants and bars; New or single-location restaurants; Growing multi-location groups
Pricing modelSubscription plus percentage of card salesSubscription per location plus card processing
Starting priceNot published$59 (currency not stated) per month
Free planNot publishedYes
Free trialNot publishedNot published
ContractA 3-year contract applies to the hardware promotion offer (per its terms); other contract terms are not stated on the vendor's site.Not published
PlatformsWebWeb, iOS, Android
CountriesAustralia, Canada, Singapore, United Kingdom, United StatesUnited States
LanguagesEnglish, French (Canada)Not published
Number of integrations62
CertificationsNot publishedNot published
Security practicesClover Security Plus: end-to-end encryption, tokenisation and PCI compliance tools (optional)Not published
FoundedNot published2009
HeadquartersNot publishedNot published
OwnerNot publishedSkyview Equity (acquired Upserve in 2026, per its about page); previously Lightspeed (2020)
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

No partner appears in every list.

Named only by Clover

  • ADP
  • Menufy
  • QuickBooks
  • Shopify
  • Xero
  • Yelp

Named only by Upserve

  • Adyen
  • Epson KDS

Which to choose

Clover

Choose Clover if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Full-service restaurants and bars; Quick-service, cafe and food-truck operators; Small operators who want packaged hardware.

Upserve

Choose Upserve if you fit its listed audience: Full-service restaurants and bars; New or single-location restaurants; Growing multi-location groups.

What we could not confirm

Clover

  • Monthly software prices and device prices (not shown in page text)
  • Contract length and termination fees outside the promotion terms
  • Parent company, headquarters, founding year, founders and employee count (not on the vendor's site)
  • Which countries the restaurant product is sold in (inferred from regional sites only)
  • Mobile app store listings
  • Full list of integrations, including named delivery apps
  • Independent security certifications beyond PCI-related tools

Upserve

  • Price of the Pro plan (custom)
  • Currency (dollar sign only)
  • Contract term and renewal
  • Headquarters, legal entity and team size
  • Full list of third-party integrations (partners page names none)
  • Security certifications
  • Interface languages

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.