Plum POS vs Squirrel Systems
Plum POS is a cloud point-of-sale system for restaurants in the United States, sold with its own terminals, handhelds, self-order kiosks and kitchen displays. Squirrel Systems sells point-of-sale software and hardware for restaurants, multi-unit chains, and hotels, resorts and casinos. Both are listed under Restaurant POS. The main differences are in price, audience and platforms.
Key differences
price
On price, Plum POS at USD 60 per month; Squirrel Systems at $90 (currency not stated) per month. These figures are not directly comparable because the currency or billing basis is not the same.
audience
Audience differs between the profiles. Listed by one product alone: Plum POS: Quick-service and fast-casual restaurants; Squirrel Systems: Independent restaurants.
platforms
Platform support differs. Plum POS: Web; Squirrel Systems: Web, iOS, Android, Windows.
countries covered
On geography, Plum POS names 1 country and Squirrel Systems names 2 countries. 1 country appears in every list.
integrations
The integration lists differ. Plum POS names 3 integrations and Squirrel Systems names 5 integrations. No partner appears in every list.
company background
By headquarters, Plum POS (Costa Mesa, United States) and Squirrel Systems (Burnaby, Canada).
Side by side
| Field | Plum POS | Squirrel Systems |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Plum POS is a cloud point-of-sale system for restaurants in the United States, sold with its own terminals, handhelds, self-order kiosks and kitchen displays. | Squirrel Systems sells point-of-sale software and hardware for restaurants, multi-unit chains, and hotels, resorts and casinos. |
| Best for | Quick-service and fast-casual restaurants; Full-service restaurants; Pizzerias, bakeries, coffee shops and bars; Multi-unit restaurant brands | Independent restaurants; Multi-unit restaurant brands; Hotels, resorts and casinos |
| Pricing model | Subscription per location with card processing fees | Subscription per location plus per device |
| Starting price | USD 60 per month | $90 (currency not stated) per month |
| Free plan | No | Not published |
| Free trial | Not published | Not published |
| Contract | 36 months | Not published |
| Platforms | Web | Web, iOS, Android, Windows |
| Countries | United States | Canada, United States |
| Languages | Not published | Not published |
| Number of integrations | 3 | 5 |
| Certifications | PCI compliant | Not published |
| Security practices | Not published | Not published |
| Founded | Not published | Not published |
| Headquarters | Costa Mesa, United States | Burnaby, Canada |
| Owner | Not published | Not published |
| Last reviewed | 29 September 2026 | 29 September 2026 |
Integrations
No partner appears in every list.
Named only by Plum POS
- Doordash
- Grubhub
- Uber Eats
Named only by Squirrel Systems
- Galaxy
- Infor
- Maestro
- Opera
- Springer Miller
Which to choose
Plum POS
Choose Plum POS if you fit its listed audience: Quick-service and fast-casual restaurants; Full-service restaurants; Pizzerias, bakeries, coffee shops and bars.
Our profile lists a weaker fit: Operators who want to avoid a long commitment: the standard subscription term is 36 months and renews automatically for successive 36-month terms.
Squirrel Systems
Choose Squirrel Systems if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Independent restaurants; Multi-unit restaurant brands; Hotels, resorts and casinos.
What we could not confirm
Plum POS
- Year founded, founders, team size and funding
- Which accounting tools and payment processors it integrates with
- Whether a free trial exists (a demo can be scheduled)
- Availability outside the United States and interface languages
- Native iOS and Android apps and their listings
- Whether processing is required or third-party processors are allowed
Squirrel Systems
- Currency of the published Squirrel Cloud prices
- Squirrel 11 pricing
- Named integration partners other than five PMS names (the vendor shows logos without names)
- Founding year, legal entity, parent company, funding and team size
- Contract term and renewal
- Security certifications
- Countries where it is sold and interface languages
Sources
Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.
Plum POS, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Homepage: positioning and customer logoshttps://plumpos.com/
- Bundles, prices, fees, delivery appshttps://shop.plumpos.com/pricing/
- Contract term, warranty, hardware pricehttps://plumpos.com/faq/
- App marketplace listhttps://plumpos.com/marketplace/
- POS terminal features and testimonialshttps://plumpos.com/hardware/pos-terminal/
- Kioskhttps://plumpos.com/hardware/self-service-kiosk/
- Mobile and tableside POS, securityhttps://plumpos.com/mobile-pos-system/
- Legal entity namehttps://plumpos.com/legal/terms-of-use/
- Page discoveryhttps://plumpos.com/sitemap.xml
Squirrel Systems, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Homepage: positioning and solutionshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com
- Cloud POS features, editions and priceshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/squirrel-cloud/
- On-premise POShttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/squirrel-11/
- Hardwarehttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/hospitality-pos-hardware/
- Integration categories and APIshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/ecosystems/
- Independent restaurant fithttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/pos-for-independent-restaurants/
- Multi-unit fit and customer spotlightshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/pos-for-multi-unit-restaurants/
- Hotel fit and PMS integrationshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/pos-for-hotels-resorts-casinos/
- Customer nameshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/customers/
- Company page and addresshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/company/
- Company storyhttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/squirrel-story/
- Support programmehttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/support/

