Aireus POS vs Squirrel Systems
Aireus POS is an Apple-native point of sale for restaurants, bars and hotels, running on iPad, Mac Mini, iMac and MacBook. Squirrel Systems sells point-of-sale software and hardware for restaurants, multi-unit chains, and hotels, resorts and casinos. Both are listed under Restaurant POS. They differ in price, audience and platforms.
Key differences
price
On price, Aireus POS at $399 (currency not stated) per month; Squirrel Systems at $90 (currency not stated) per month. These figures are not directly comparable because the currency or billing basis is not the same.
audience
Not every audience is shared. Entries that only one product lists: Aireus POS: Boutique hotels and resorts with several outlets; Squirrel Systems: Independent restaurants.
platforms
Listed platforms: Aireus POS: iOS, macOS; Squirrel Systems: Web, iOS, Android, Windows.
countries covered
On geography, Aireus POS names 3 countries and Squirrel Systems names 2 countries. 2 countries appear in every list.
integrations
On integrations, Aireus POS names 18 integrations and Squirrel Systems names 5 integrations. 1 partner appears in every list.
company background
Headquarters: Aireus POS, Toronto, Canada; Squirrel Systems, Burnaby, Canada.
Side by side
| Field | Aireus POS | Squirrel Systems |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Aireus POS is an Apple-native point of sale for restaurants, bars and hotels, running on iPad, Mac Mini, iMac and MacBook. | Squirrel Systems sells point-of-sale software and hardware for restaurants, multi-unit chains, and hotels, resorts and casinos. |
| Best for | Boutique hotels and resorts with several outlets; Multi-outlet restaurant groups | Independent restaurants; Multi-unit restaurant brands; Hotels, resorts and casinos |
| Pricing model | Subscription per location | Subscription per location plus per device |
| Starting price | $399 (currency not stated) per month | $90 (currency not stated) per month |
| Free plan | No | Not published |
| Free trial | Not published | Not published |
| Contract | Not published | Not published |
| Platforms | iOS, macOS | Web, iOS, Android, Windows |
| Countries | Canada, Caribbean, United States | Canada, United States |
| Languages | Not published | Not published |
| Number of integrations | 18 | 5 |
| Certifications | Not published | Not published |
| Security practices | Apple platform security (Secure Enclave, FileVault, device attestation); no certification named | Not published |
| Founded | 2007 | Not published |
| Headquarters | Toronto, Canada | Burnaby, Canada |
| Owner | Not published | Not published |
| Last reviewed | 29 September 2026 | 29 September 2026 |
Integrations
Named by both
- Oracle Opera
Named only by Aireus POS
- Agilysys
- Avero
- Card Connect
- Clover
- Elavon
- Givex
- Global Payments
- Maestro PMS
- Paytronix
- QuickBooks
- Restaurant365
- Sage
and 5 moreshow fewer
- Shift 4
- Springer Miller SMS|Host
- Square
- WorldPay
- Xero
Named only by Squirrel Systems
- Galaxy
- Infor
- Maestro
- Springer Miller
Which to choose
Aireus POS
Choose Aireus POS if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Boutique hotels and resorts with several outlets; Multi-outlet restaurant groups.
Weaker fit: One or two iPad cafes, single-station coffee shops, one-iPad bars without PMS, loyalty or AI needs, and pop-ups or food trucks on a budget; the vendor's pricing page says a basic starter POS costs less for these.
Squirrel Systems
Choose Squirrel Systems if you fit its listed audience: Independent restaurants; Multi-unit restaurant brands; Hotels, resorts and casinos.
What we could not confirm
Aireus POS
- Contract length, free trial and price above 15 iPads
- Legal entity, team size and funding
- Full country list behind the vendor's 14-country claim
- Interface languages and security certifications
Squirrel Systems
- Currency of the published Squirrel Cloud prices
- Squirrel 11 pricing
- Named integration partners other than five PMS names (the vendor shows logos without names)
- Founding year, legal entity, parent company, funding and team size
- Contract term and renewal
- Security certifications
- Countries where it is sold and interface languages
Sources
Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.
Aireus POS, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Homepagehttps://www.aireuspos.com/
- Pricing tiershttps://www.aireuspos.com/aireus-pricing
- Integration partnershttps://www.aireuspos.com/aireus-integrations
- Hardwarehttps://www.aireuspos.com/aireus-hardware
- Payment processorshttps://www.aireuspos.com/aireus-payments
- Company, HQ, supporthttps://www.aireuspos.com/aireus-about
- Customershttps://www.aireuspos.com/aireus-customers
Squirrel Systems, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Homepage: positioning and solutionshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com
- Cloud POS features, editions and priceshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/squirrel-cloud/
- On-premise POShttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/squirrel-11/
- Hardwarehttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/hospitality-pos-hardware/
- Integration categories and APIshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/ecosystems/
- Independent restaurant fithttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/pos-for-independent-restaurants/
- Multi-unit fit and customer spotlightshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/pos-for-multi-unit-restaurants/
- Hotel fit and PMS integrationshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/pos-for-hotels-resorts-casinos/
- Customer nameshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/customers/
- Company page and addresshttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/company/
- Company storyhttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/squirrel-story/
- Support programmehttps://www.squirrelsystems.com/support/

