Aireus POS vs Otter

Aireus POS is an Apple-native point of sale for restaurants, bars and hotels, running on iPad, Mac Mini, iMac and MacBook. Otter started as a tablet that gathers orders from delivery apps and is now sold as a restaurant point of sale system. Both are listed under Restaurant POS. They differ in price, audience and platforms.

Key differences

  • price

    On price, Aireus POS at $399 (currency not stated) per month; Otter at USD 79 per location per month. These figures are not directly comparable because the currency or billing basis is not the same.

  • audience

    The audiences they list differ. Listed for one product only, for example: Aireus POS: Boutique hotels and resorts with several outlets; Otter: Quick service and fast casual restaurants taking online orders.

  • platforms

    Listed platforms: Aireus POS: iOS, macOS; Otter: Web, iOS, Android.

  • countries covered

    On geography, Aireus POS names 3 countries and Otter names 4 countries. 2 countries appear in every list.

  • integrations

    Aireus POS names 18 integrations and Otter names 34 integrations. 4 partners appear in every list.

  • company background

    Headquarters: Aireus POS, Toronto, Canada; Otter, Los Angeles, United States.

Side by side

Aireus POS vs Otter: side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldAireus POSOtter
What it isAireus POS is an Apple-native point of sale for restaurants, bars and hotels, running on iPad, Mac Mini, iMac and MacBook.Otter started as a tablet that gathers orders from delivery apps and is now sold as a restaurant point of sale system.
Best forBoutique hotels and resorts with several outlets; Multi-outlet restaurant groupsQuick service and fast casual restaurants taking online orders; Restaurants on several delivery apps; Food stands, small cafes and food trucks; Multi-store and high-volume restaurants
Pricing modelSubscription per locationSubscription per location
Starting price$399 (currency not stated) per monthUSD 79 per location per month
Free planNoNot published
Free trialNot publishedNot published
ContractNot publishedMonthly plans renew monthly; hardware leases need 24 months
PlatformsiOS, macOSWeb, iOS, Android
CountriesCanada, Caribbean, United StatesAustralia, Canada, United Kingdom, United States
LanguagesNot publishedNot published
Number of integrations1834
CertificationsNot publishedCCPA, GDPR
Security practicesApple platform security (Secure Enclave, FileVault, device attestation); no certification namedNot published
Founded2007Not published
HeadquartersToronto, CanadaLos Angeles, United States
OwnerNot publishedNot published
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

Named by both

  • Clover
  • Restaurant365
  • Shift 4
  • Square

Named only by Aireus POS

  • Agilysys
  • Avero
  • Card Connect
  • Elavon
  • Givex
  • Global Payments
  • Maestro PMS
  • Oracle Opera
  • Paytronix
  • QuickBooks
  • Sage
  • Springer Miller SMS|Host
and 2 more
  • WorldPay
  • Xero

Named only by Otter

  • 7shifts
  • ChowNow
  • Deputy
  • DoorDash
  • DoorDash Drive
  • Epos Now
  • ezCater
  • Flipdish
  • GoTab
  • Grubhub
  • Homebase
  • Hungry Panda
and 18 more
  • Lavu
  • Lightspeed
  • Loyverse
  • MarketMan
  • Micros
  • Order with Google
  • Brink
  • POSitouch
  • Postmates
  • Revel
  • Seamless
  • Shipday
  • Skip the Dishes
  • Slice
  • Squirrel Systems
  • Stripe
  • Toast
  • Uber Eats

Which to choose

Aireus POS

Choose Aireus POS if you are in one of these groups: Boutique hotels and resorts with several outlets; Multi-outlet restaurant groups.

Less suited to: One or two iPad cafes, single-station coffee shops, one-iPad bars without PMS, loyalty or AI needs, and pop-ups or food trucks on a budget; the vendor's pricing page says a basic starter POS costs less for these.

Otter

Choose Otter if you fit its listed audience: Quick service and fast casual restaurants taking online orders; Restaurants on several delivery apps; Food stands, small cafes and food trucks.

What we could not confirm

Aireus POS

  • Contract length, free trial and price above 15 iPads
  • Legal entity, team size and funding
  • Full country list behind the vendor's 14-country claim
  • Interface languages and security certifications

Otter

  • Base prices of the Lite and Standard order-aggregation plans (the details page lists features but not the plan prices)
  • Enterprise or multi-location pricing (the site offers a quote)
  • Founding year, founders, funding and parent company: the site has no About page and states none of these
  • Employee count
  • Full list of countries and which integrations work in which country; the vendor's own customer claims differ (100,000+ restaurants on the homepage, 275k+ customers and 40+ countries on the why-otter page)
  • Interface languages of the product (the marketing site has Spanish, French and Portuguese versions)
  • Security certifications such as SOC 2 or PCI level
  • Free trial or free plan
  • Whether Otter is owned by or affiliated with another company: the legal terms mention affiliates but name none

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.

Otter, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepage: positioning, pricing bundles, comparison, claimshttps://www.tryotter.com
  2. POS bundle prices, processing fees, hardware termshttps://www.tryotter.com/pricing
  3. Order aggregation plan details, add-on prices, hardware priceshttps://www.tryotter.com/pricing-details-aggregate
  4. Integration partner listhttps://www.tryotter.com/integrations
  5. POS product pagehttps://www.tryotter.com/products/otterpos
  6. Order Managerhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/order-management
  7. Kitchen displayhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/kds
  8. Kioskhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/kiosk
  9. Online orderinghttps://www.tryotter.com/products/online-ordering
  10. Cateringhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/catering
  11. Menu managementhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/menu-management
  12. Loyaltyhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/loyalty
  13. Marketing automationhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/marketing
  14. Ratings and reviewshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/ratings-and-reviews
  15. Financialshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/financials
  16. Analyticshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/analytics
  17. Live alertshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/live-alerts
  18. Website builderhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/website-builder
  19. Virtual brandshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/virtual-brands
  20. Inventory Savings cash backhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/inventory-savings
  21. Otter Go apphttps://www.tryotter.com/products/app
  22. Company claims, customer nameshttps://www.tryotter.com/why-otter
  23. FAQ topicshttps://www.tryotter.com/faq
  24. Legal terms by regionhttps://www.tryotter.com/legal
  25. Legal entity, billing and cancellation termshttps://www.tryotter.com/legal/tech-services
  26. Legal entity and Los Angeles addresshttps://www.tryotter.com/legal/privacy-policy
  27. Page discovery; UK and Australian site versionshttps://www.tryotter.com/sitemap.xml