IT Retail vs PBSA POS

IT Retail is a cloud point-of-sale and back-office system built for grocery stores and specialty markets such as butcher shops, fish markets, bodegas and international grocers. PBSA POS is point-of-sale and stock-control software from an Australian company that has built POS systems since 2003. Both are listed under Food Retail POS (grocery, butcher, deli). They differ in price, audience and countries covered.

Key differences

  • price

    On price, IT Retail at USD 49 per month; PBSA POS at $198 (currency not stated) per month. These figures are not directly comparable because the currency or billing basis is not the same.

  • audience

    The audiences they list differ. Listed for one product only, for example: IT Retail: Independent grocers and supermarkets; PBSA POS: Butchers, delis and seafood shops.

  • countries covered

    Country coverage differs. IT Retail names 1 country and PBSA POS names 3 countries. No country appears in every list.

  • integrations

    The integration lists differ. IT Retail names 16 integrations and PBSA POS names 12 integrations. 1 partner appears in every list.

  • company background

    IT Retail is based in Riverside, United States and PBSA POS in Ballarat, Australia.

Side by side

IT Retail vs PBSA POS: side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldIT RetailPBSA POS
What it isIT Retail is a cloud point-of-sale and back-office system built for grocery stores and specialty markets such as butcher shops, fish markets, bodegas and international grocers.PBSA POS is point-of-sale and stock-control software from an Australian company that has built POS systems since 2003.
Best forIndependent grocers and supermarkets; Butcher shops and fish markets; International and ethnic markets; Grocery stores that also serve prepared foodButchers, delis and seafood shops; Grocery and supermarket stores; Organic, health and bulk-food stores
Pricing modelSubscription per laneSubscription (or one-off licence)
Starting priceUSD 49 per month$198 (currency not stated) per month
Free planNot publishedNot published
Free trialNot publishedNot published
ContractNot publishedNot published
PlatformsWebNot published
CountriesUnited StatesAustralia, New Zealand, United Kingdom
LanguagesNot publishedNot published
Number of integrations1612
CertificationsPCI DSSNot published
Security practicesNot publishedSoftware certified by Australia's National Measurement Institute for connecting to scales (vendor claim)
Founded1993Not published
HeadquartersRiverside, United StatesBallarat, Australia
OwnerNot publishedNot published
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

Named by both

  • QuickBooks

Named only by IT Retail

  • AppCard
  • Associated Grocers of New England
  • CAS
  • Circana
  • Datalogic
  • eGrowcery
  • Ingenico
  • Instacart
  • LocalExpress
  • Mercato
  • My Cloud Grocer
  • Seiko
and 3 more
  • Upshop
  • Zapier
  • Zebra

Named only by PBSA POS

  • Assembly Payments
  • Castles
  • Fastway
  • Linkly (PC-EFTPOS)
  • mx51 (Spice)
  • MYOB
  • Reckon
  • Shopify
  • Tyro
  • WooCommerce
  • Xero

Which to choose

IT Retail

Choose IT Retail if you fit its listed audience: Independent grocers and supermarkets; Butcher shops and fish markets; International and ethnic markets.

PBSA POS

Choose PBSA POS if you are in one of these groups: Butchers, delis and seafood shops; Grocery and supermarket stores; Organic, health and bulk-food stores.

What we could not confirm

IT Retail

  • Growth and Premium plan prices (hidden behind a form) and what the $49 Starter price covers per lane
  • Contract length and renewal terms
  • Mobile apps and whether front-end software runs on Windows or other systems
  • Funding, employee count and registration details
  • Interface languages
  • Which wholesalers are integrated (only Associated Grocers of New England is named)

PBSA POS

  • Contract term and renewal
  • Whether it runs on Windows, in the cloud, or both, and which apps exist
  • Currency on the pricing page (shown as $ only)
  • Founders, employee count and funding
  • Interface languages
  • Named customers

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.

IT Retail, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepagehttps://www.itretail.com
  2. Plans and Starter pricehttps://www.itretail.com/pricing
  3. FAQ: pricing model, EBT, offline, wholesalershttps://www.itretail.com/it-retail-faq-page
  4. Hardware bundle and offerhttps://www.itretail.com/build-and-price
  5. Inventory featureshttps://www.itretail.com/inventory-management
  6. Integration partnershttps://www.itretail.com/integrations-interfaces
  7. Payment processing and EBThttps://www.itretail.com/it-retail-payments
  8. E-commercehttps://www.itretail.com/grocery-ecommerce
  9. Self-checkouthttps://www.itretail.com/grocery-self-checkout
  10. Butcher shop featureshttps://www.itretail.com/butcher-shop-pos
  11. Open development platformhttps://www.itretail.com/platform
  12. History, founder, officeshttps://www.itretail.com/about-us
  13. Support and training planhttps://www.itretail.com/support
  14. Customer quoteshttps://www.itretail.com/testimonials
  15. Addresshttps://www.itretail.com/contact