Qashier vs SumUp POS vs Synapsy vs Zettle by PayPal

Qashier is a point of sale and payments platform for small businesses in Southeast Asia. SumUp POS is the point-of-sale software from payments company SumUp, sold for restaurants, cafes and retail. Synapsy is a French software publisher selling point-of-sale and back-office software to food retailers, mainly bakeries and pastry shops, plus butchers, caterers, chocolate makers and fast-food outlets. Zettle by PayPal is a point-of-sale app with card readers and an all-in-one terminal for taking in-person payments. All four are listed under Café & Bakery POS. They differ in price, audience and platforms.

Key differences

  • price

    On price, Qashier at $5 (currency not stated) per day; SumUp POS at GBP 49 per month, excluding VAT. These figures are not directly comparable because the currency or billing basis is not the same. Synapsy and Zettle by PayPal do not publish a starting price.

  • audience

    Not every audience is shared. Entries that only one product lists: Qashier: Cafes, kiosks, food courts and hawker-style outlets in Singapore; SumUp POS: Restaurants and cafes already taking SumUp payments; Synapsy: Bakeries and pastry shops in France; Zettle by PayPal: Small cafes and takeaways that want a low-cost card reader.

  • platforms

    Platform support differs. Qashier: Web, Android; SumUp POS: Web, iOS; Synapsy: Web; Zettle by PayPal: iOS, Android.

  • countries covered

    Qashier names 4 countries, SumUp POS names 38 countries, Synapsy names 1 country and Zettle by PayPal names 12 countries. No country appears in every list.

  • integrations

    On integrations, Qashier names 7 integrations, SumUp POS names 28 integrations, Synapsy names 10 integrations and Zettle by PayPal names 13 integrations. 1 partner appears in every list.

Side by side

Qashier vs SumUp POS vs Synapsy vs Zettle by PayPal: side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldQashierSumUp POSSynapsyZettle by PayPal
What it isQashier is a point of sale and payments platform for small businesses in Southeast Asia.SumUp POS is the point-of-sale software from payments company SumUp, sold for restaurants, cafes and retail.Synapsy is a French software publisher selling point-of-sale and back-office software to food retailers, mainly bakeries and pastry shops, plus butchers, caterers, chocolate makers and fast-food outlets.Zettle by PayPal is a point-of-sale app with card readers and an all-in-one terminal for taking in-person payments.
Best forCafes, kiosks, food courts and hawker-style outlets in Singapore; Restaurants and bars; Multi-outlet restaurant groups and franchises; Businesses that want POS and payments from one providerRestaurants and cafes already taking SumUp payments; Small and mid-size hospitality venues wanting a flat monthly fee; Restaurants that use delivery appsBakeries and pastry shops in France; Butchers, charcutiers and caterers; Multi-shop food retail networks; Fast-food and snack outletsSmall cafes and takeaways that want a low-cost card reader; Mobile and pop-up sellers
Pricing modelSubscription per daySubscription per locationQuote onlyPercentage of sales
Starting price$5 (currency not stated) per dayGBP 49 per month, excluding VATNot publishedNot published
Free planNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedYes
Free trialNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
ContractNone (daily subscription, cancel any time)Not publishedNot publishedNone: the vendor says there are no lock-in contracts or commitment periods
PlatformsWeb, AndroidWeb, iOSWebiOS, Android
CountriesMalaysia, Philippines, Singapore, ThailandAustralia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada and 32 moreFranceBrazil, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain and 6 more
LanguagesNot publishedNot publishedFrenchNot published
Number of integrations7281013
CertificationsPCI DSSNot publishedLNE certificatePCI DSS
Security practicesMAS-licensed Major Payment Institution (Singapore), Personal data protection laws in Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia and the PhilippinesEncrypted transactions, cloud backup and tax-audit compliance (no certification named)Till software described as certified (certifying body not named)Not published
Founded201920122005Not published
HeadquartersSingapore, SingaporeNot publishedFranceNot published
OwnerNot publishedNot publishedProgial group (Progial and Synapsy merged in 2022, per the vendor)PayPal
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 202629 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

Named by all four

  • WooCommerce

Named only by Qashier

  • foodpanda
  • GrabFood
  • PayNow
  • Shopee

Named only by SumUp POS

  • Deliveroo
  • Fourth
  • FreeAgent
  • KitchenCut
  • Mailchimp
  • MarketMan
  • Nory
  • Opsyte
  • Otter
  • Paymentsense
  • Pepper
  • Planday
and 11 more
  • ResDiary
  • RotaCloud
  • Rotaready
  • SimpleERB
  • Tenzo
  • TipJAR
  • Urban Piper
  • VisitOne
  • Yoyo
  • Zapier
  • Zettle

Named only by Synapsy

  • Bakeronline
  • Docoon
  • Helean
  • HubRise
  • Inpulse
  • Otami
  • PrestaShop
  • Progial

Named only by Zettle by PayPal

  • BigCommerce
  • EPOS Now
  • Goodtill
  • Lightspeed
  • Loyverse
  • Tabology
  • Tanda
  • Vend
  • Vita Mojo

Which to choose

Qashier

Choose Qashier if you are in one of these groups: Cafes, kiosks, food courts and hawker-style outlets in Singapore; Restaurants and bars; Multi-outlet restaurant groups and franchises.

SumUp POS

Choose SumUp POS if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Restaurants and cafes already taking SumUp payments; Small and mid-size hospitality venues wanting a flat monthly fee; Restaurants that use delivery apps.

Synapsy

Choose Synapsy if you fit its listed audience: Bakeries and pastry shops in France; Butchers, charcutiers and caterers; Multi-shop food retail networks.

Weaker fit: Businesses outside France or those wanting self-serve published pricing: the site is in French, lists French offices and sells through quotes and demos.

Zettle by PayPal

Choose Zettle by PayPal if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Small cafes and takeaways that want a low-cost card reader; Mobile and pop-up sellers.

Weaker fit: Businesses needing multi-site management: the Multisite feature is not available for new merchants at this time, per the help centre.

What we could not confirm

Qashier

  • Currency of the $5 a day price (page shows Singapore pricing and a dollar sign only)
  • Whether a free plan exists (page says start free but names no plan)
  • Card processing (MDR) rates beyond the pricing FAQ
  • Employee count and funding
  • Interface languages and iOS availability
  • Sources for the 25,000-plus merchant claim (vendor statement)

SumUp POS

  • Contract minimum term and renewal
  • Headquarters, founders and funding (not on the vendor's site)
  • Which countries offer Point of Sale Pro
  • Card processing rates for the Pro plan
  • Interface languages, security certifications and native apps

Synapsy

  • Any price or contract term
  • Legal entity name, registration number, headquarters and team size
  • Named customers
  • Which operating systems the Iris till runs on
  • Security certifications beyond the certified till and scales
  • Whether the tool is sold outside France

Zettle by PayPal

  • Founding year and headquarters
  • Restaurant-specific features such as table service
  • Date PayPal acquired the business (not stated on the vendor's site)

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.

Qashier, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepage and navigationhttps://qashier.com/sg/
  2. Pricinghttps://qashier.com/sg/software-pricing
  3. F&B POShttps://qashier.com/sg/food-cafe-pos
  4. Restaurants and barshttps://qashier.com/sg/restaurant-bar
  5. Kitchen displayhttps://qashier.com/sg/kitchen-display-system
  6. Delivery integrationhttps://qashier.com/sg/food-delivery-partners-integration
  7. Xerohttps://qashier.com/sg/xero-integration
  8. Shopify and WooCommercehttps://qashier.com/sg/ecommerce-integration
  9. PayNowhttps://qashier.com/sg/paynow-integration
  10. QR orderinghttps://qashier.com/sg/qr-code-ordering
  11. Multi-outlethttps://qashier.com/sg/restaurant-groups
  12. APIhttps://qashier.com/sg/api-integration
  13. Securityhttps://qashier.com/sg/security
  14. Licenceshttps://qashier.com/sg/trusted-licensed
  15. Companyhttps://qashier.com/sg/about-us
  16. Supporthttps://qashier.com/sg/local-support

Synapsy, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepage: range, sectors, e-invoicing newshttps://synapsy.fr/
  2. Company history 2005 onwardshttps://synapsy.fr/qui-sommes-nous/
  3. Iris till softwarehttps://synapsy.fr/logiciel-de-caisse/
  4. Iris loyalty and stockhttps://synapsy.fr/iris-caisse-enregistreuse-commercant/
  5. Alecto management softwarehttps://synapsy.fr/alecto-logiciel-gestion-commerciale-adapte/
  6. Production planninghttps://synapsy.fr/logiciel-de-gestion-de-production/
  7. Order takinghttps://synapsy.fr/gestion-des-commandes/
  8. Butcher offerhttps://synapsy.fr/le-logiciel-de-caisse-enregistreuse-pour-votre-boucherie-charcuterie/
  9. Scales and hardwarehttps://synapsy.fr/balance-boucherie/
  10. Click and collecthttps://synapsy.fr/click-and-collect-boucherie/
  11. Integrationshttps://synapsy.fr/nos-integrations/
  12. FAQ: mobile access, product rangehttps://synapsy.fr/foire-aux-questions/
  13. Support hourshttps://synapsy.fr/service-client/
  14. Offices, quote formhttps://synapsy.fr/contactez-nous/