Brilliant POS vs Otter

Brilliant POS is a US point-of-sale reseller and payment services provider that sells Clover hardware and plans alongside its own Restaurant Pro Express and Cash Register Express software. Otter started as a tablet that gathers orders from delivery apps and is now sold as a restaurant point of sale system. Both are listed under Restaurant POS. The main differences are in price, audience and platforms.

Key differences

  • price

    Starting prices: Brilliant POS at $89.95 (currency not stated) per device per month; Otter at USD 79 per location per month. The currency or billing basis differs, so they are not directly comparable.

  • audience

    Audience differs between the profiles. Listed by one product alone: Brilliant POS: Small bars and restaurants; Otter: Quick service and fast casual restaurants taking online orders.

  • platforms

    Platform support differs. Brilliant POS: Web; Otter: Web, iOS, Android.

  • integrations

    On integrations, Brilliant POS names 4 integrations and Otter names 34 integrations. 1 partner appears in every list.

  • company background

    Brilliant POS is based in Charlotte, United States and Otter in Los Angeles, United States.

Side by side

Brilliant POS vs Otter: side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldBrilliant POSOtter
What it isBrilliant POS is a US point-of-sale reseller and payment services provider that sells Clover hardware and plans alongside its own Restaurant Pro Express and Cash Register Express software.Otter started as a tablet that gathers orders from delivery apps and is now sold as a restaurant point of sale system.
Best forSmall bars and restaurants; Quick-service counters; Owners who want Clover hardware with a local resellerQuick service and fast casual restaurants taking online orders; Restaurants on several delivery apps; Food stands, small cafes and food trucks; Multi-store and high-volume restaurants
Pricing modelSubscription per deviceSubscription per location
Starting price$89.95 (currency not stated) per device per monthUSD 79 per location per month
Free planNot publishedNot published
Free trialNot publishedNot published
ContractNot publishedMonthly plans renew monthly; hardware leases need 24 months
PlatformsWebWeb, iOS, Android
CountriesNot publishedAustralia, Canada, United Kingdom, United States
LanguagesNot publishedNot published
Number of integrations434
CertificationsNot publishedCCPA, GDPR
Security practicesNot publishedNot published
FoundedNot publishedNot published
HeadquartersCharlotte, United StatesLos Angeles, United States
OwnerNot publishedNot published
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

Named by both

  • Clover

Named only by Brilliant POS

  • Apple Pay
  • Quickbooks
  • Venmo

Named only by Otter

  • 7shifts
  • ChowNow
  • Deputy
  • DoorDash
  • DoorDash Drive
  • Epos Now
  • ezCater
  • Flipdish
  • GoTab
  • Grubhub
  • Homebase
  • Hungry Panda
and 21 more
  • Lavu
  • Lightspeed
  • Loyverse
  • MarketMan
  • Micros
  • Order with Google
  • Brink
  • POSitouch
  • Postmates
  • Restaurant365
  • Revel
  • Seamless
  • Shift4
  • Shipday
  • Skip the Dishes
  • Slice
  • Square
  • Squirrel Systems
  • Stripe
  • Toast
  • Uber Eats

Which to choose

Brilliant POS

Choose Brilliant POS if you fit its listed audience: Small bars and restaurants; Quick-service counters; Owners who want Clover hardware with a local reseller.

Otter

Choose Otter if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Quick service and fast casual restaurants taking online orders; Restaurants on several delivery apps; Food stands, small cafes and food trucks.

What we could not confirm

Brilliant POS

  • Hardware prices and contract length or renewal terms (quote only)
  • Processing rates (the site promises clear pricing but publishes none)
  • Currency of the plan prices (the page shows $ only)
  • Founding year, legal entity, team size and funding (no about page found)
  • Countries served and languages
  • Security certifications
  • Which operating systems run Restaurant Pro Express and Cash Register Express
  • Any integrations beyond QuickBooks, Clover and the payment methods named

Otter

  • Base prices of the Lite and Standard order-aggregation plans (the details page lists features but not the plan prices)
  • Enterprise or multi-location pricing (the site offers a quote)
  • Founding year, founders, funding and parent company: the site has no About page and states none of these
  • Employee count
  • Full list of countries and which integrations work in which country; the vendor's own customer claims differ (100,000+ restaurants on the homepage, 275k+ customers and 40+ countries on the why-otter page)
  • Interface languages of the product (the marketing site has Spanish, French and Portuguese versions)
  • Security certifications such as SOC 2 or PCI level
  • Free trial or free plan
  • Whether Otter is owned by or affiliated with another company: the legal terms mention affiliates but name none

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.

Brilliant POS, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepage: positioning, features, offices, Clover device listhttps://brilliantpos.com/
  2. Restaurant POS features and testimonialshttps://brilliantpos.com/bar-restaurant-pos/
  3. Clover plan prices and included serviceshttps://brilliantpos.com/pricing/
  4. Add-ons: QuickBooks, online store, gift cardshttps://brilliantpos.com/pos-integrations/
  5. Clover offer and payment typeshttps://brilliantpos.com/clover/
  6. Restaurant Pro Express features and trialhttps://brilliantpos.com/restaurant-pro-express/
  7. Scheduling and time clockhttps://brilliantpos.com/employee-management/
  8. Processing termshttps://brilliantpos.com/payment-processing/
  9. Hardware statementhttps://brilliantpos.com/pos-hardware/

Otter, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepage: positioning, pricing bundles, comparison, claimshttps://www.tryotter.com
  2. POS bundle prices, processing fees, hardware termshttps://www.tryotter.com/pricing
  3. Order aggregation plan details, add-on prices, hardware priceshttps://www.tryotter.com/pricing-details-aggregate
  4. Integration partner listhttps://www.tryotter.com/integrations
  5. POS product pagehttps://www.tryotter.com/products/otterpos
  6. Order Managerhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/order-management
  7. Kitchen displayhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/kds
  8. Kioskhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/kiosk
  9. Online orderinghttps://www.tryotter.com/products/online-ordering
  10. Cateringhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/catering
  11. Menu managementhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/menu-management
  12. Loyaltyhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/loyalty
  13. Marketing automationhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/marketing
  14. Ratings and reviewshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/ratings-and-reviews
  15. Financialshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/financials
  16. Analyticshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/analytics
  17. Live alertshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/live-alerts
  18. Website builderhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/website-builder
  19. Virtual brandshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/virtual-brands
  20. Inventory Savings cash backhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/inventory-savings
  21. Otter Go apphttps://www.tryotter.com/products/app
  22. Company claims, customer nameshttps://www.tryotter.com/why-otter
  23. FAQ topicshttps://www.tryotter.com/faq
  24. Legal terms by regionhttps://www.tryotter.com/legal
  25. Legal entity, billing and cancellation termshttps://www.tryotter.com/legal/tech-services
  26. Legal entity and Los Angeles addresshttps://www.tryotter.com/legal/privacy-policy
  27. Page discovery; UK and Australian site versionshttps://www.tryotter.com/sitemap.xml