Sling vs Time Clock by Homebase (Clover)

Sling is employee scheduling software with time tracking, team messaging, task lists and labour cost tracking. Time Clock by Homebase is the Homebase time clock app that runs on Clover point-of-sale devices and comes preinstalled on new Clover devices. Both are listed under Employee Scheduling & Rostering. They differ in price, audience and platforms.

Key differences

  • price

    The vendors price on different terms. Sling at USD 2 per user per month; Time Clock by Homebase (Clover) at $30 (currency not stated) per location per month. The amounts cannot be compared directly.

  • audience

    The audiences they list differ. Listed for one product only, for example: Sling: Restaurants, bars and cafes; Time Clock by Homebase (Clover): Restaurants and small businesses already on Clover.

  • platforms

    Listed platforms: Sling: Web, iOS, Android; Time Clock by Homebase (Clover): Web, iOS.

  • integrations

    The integration lists differ. Sling names 8 integrations and Time Clock by Homebase (Clover) names 17 integrations. 4 partners appear in every list.

Side by side

Sling vs Time Clock by Homebase (Clover): side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldSlingTime Clock by Homebase (Clover)
What it isSling is employee scheduling software with time tracking, team messaging, task lists and labour cost tracking.Time Clock by Homebase is the Homebase time clock app that runs on Clover point-of-sale devices and comes preinstalled on new Clover devices.
Best forRestaurants, bars and cafes; Restaurants that run Toast POS; Small teams that only need scheduling; Businesses with several locationsRestaurants and small businesses already on Clover; Small hourly teams
Pricing modelSubscription per userSubscription per location
Starting priceUSD 2 per user per month$30 (currency not stated) per location per month
Free planYesYes
Free trialYesYes
ContractNot publishedNot published
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb, iOS
CountriesNot publishedUnited States
LanguagesEnglishNot published
Number of integrations817
CertificationsGDPRNot published
Security practicesData stored in Amazon cloud, with role-based, least-privilege staff accessData encryption in transit and at rest; two-factor authentication, SSO and role-based access control, Vulnerability management and annual penetration testing
Founded2015Not published
HeadquartersBoston, Massachusetts, United StatesNot published
OwnerToast (the site banner reads 'Sling is now Sling by Toast')Not published
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

Named by both

  • Gusto
  • Shopify
  • Square
  • Toast

Named only by Sling

  • Harbortouch
  • POSiTouch
  • Restaurant Manager
  • Toast Payroll

Named only by Time Clock by Homebase (Clover)

  • ADP
  • Bank of America
  • Clover
  • GoDaddy
  • Heartland
  • Lightspeed
  • Millennium Payroll Services
  • PAR
  • Paychex
  • QuickBooks
  • Square Payroll
  • SurePayroll
and 1 more
  • Wells Fargo

Which to choose

Sling

Choose Sling if you fit its listed audience: Restaurants, bars and cafes; Restaurants that run Toast POS; Small teams that only need scheduling.

Time Clock by Homebase (Clover)

Choose Time Clock by Homebase (Clover) if you fit its listed audience: Restaurants and small businesses already on Clover; Small hourly teams.

What we could not confirm

Sling

  • Date and terms of the acquisition by Toast
  • Whether the Boston address in the site footer is Sling's own office or its parent's; the about page says Sling was founded in Reykjavik, Iceland and later opened a New York office
  • Team size
  • Countries where Sling is sold and supported; only a 150-country usage claim is given
  • Languages of the web app beyond English (the App Store lists English only)
  • Security certifications such as SOC 2 or ISO 27001; none stated
  • Minimum term, renewal and cancellation terms
  • Support hours and whether support differs by plan
  • Whether the ADP integration shown in older site URLs is still offered
  • Funding history before the acquisition

Time Clock by Homebase (Clover)

  • The Clover App Market listing itself, so any Clover-specific price and app rating
  • Currency of the published prices (page shows only a $ sign)
  • Whether the Clover app price differs from Homebase plan prices
  • Company legal name, founding year, headquarters and funding
  • Platform availability of the Clover app beyond Clover devices

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.

Sling, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepage: positioning, features, Toast banner, customer quoteshttps://getsling.com/
  2. Plans, prices, trial, plan feature gridhttps://getsling.com/pricing/
  3. POS and payroll integrationshttps://getsling.com/integrations/
  4. Restaurant fit, integrations namedhttps://getsling.com/restaurant-scheduling-software/
  5. Toast integration, platformshttps://getsling.com/toast/
  6. Time clock featureshttps://getsling.com/employee-time-clock/
  7. Timesheets and payroll exporthttps://getsling.com/payroll/
  8. Founding, founder, address, countries claimhttps://getsling.com/about-us/
  9. Security and GDPR statementshttps://getsling.com/security-faq/
  10. Page discoveryhttps://getsling.com/page-sitemap.xml
  11. iOS app listing, developer, languagehttps://apps.apple.com/us/app/sling-employee-scheduling-app/id922995624
  12. Google Play listinghttps://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gangverk.sling