Planday vs Time Clock by Homebase (Clover)

Planday is workforce management software for shift-based businesses: it builds rotas, tracks time with a phone punch clock, manages leave and prepares timesheets for payroll. Time Clock by Homebase is the Homebase time clock app that runs on Clover point-of-sale devices and comes preinstalled on new Clover devices. Both are listed under Employee Scheduling & Rostering. The main differences are in price, free plans and audience.

Key differences

  • price

    The vendors price on different terms. Planday at GBP 2.99 per user per month; Time Clock by Homebase (Clover) at $30 (currency not stated) per location per month. The amounts cannot be compared directly.

  • free plans

    Time Clock by Homebase (Clover) offers a free plan. Planday does not.

  • audience

    The audiences they list differ. Listed for one product only, for example: Planday: Restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs with shift teams; Time Clock by Homebase (Clover): Restaurants and small businesses already on Clover.

  • countries covered

    Planday names 2 countries and Time Clock by Homebase (Clover) names 1 country. No country appears in every list.

  • integrations

    Planday names 34 integrations and Time Clock by Homebase (Clover) names 17 integrations. 6 partners appear in every list.

Side by side

Planday vs Time Clock by Homebase (Clover): side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldPlandayTime Clock by Homebase (Clover)
What it isPlanday is workforce management software for shift-based businesses: it builds rotas, tracks time with a phone punch clock, manages leave and prepares timesheets for payroll.Time Clock by Homebase is the Homebase time clock app that runs on Clover point-of-sale devices and comes preinstalled on new Clover devices.
Best forRestaurants, cafes, bars and clubs with shift teams; Small businesses leaving spreadsheets; Multi-site operators; Hotels and larger groupsRestaurants and small businesses already on Clover; Small hourly teams
Pricing modelSubscription per userSubscription per location
Starting priceGBP 2.99 per user per month$30 (currency not stated) per location per month
Free planNoYes
Free trialYesYes
ContractNot publishedNot published
PlatformsWeb, iOSWeb, iOS
CountriesDenmark, United KingdomUnited States
LanguagesDansk, Deutsch, English, Español, Français, Italiano and 2 moreNot published
Number of integrations3417
CertificationsGDPR, ISO 27001, SOC 2Not published
Security practicesNot publishedData encryption in transit and at rest; two-factor authentication, SSO and role-based access control, Vulnerability management and annual penetration testing
Founded2004Not published
HeadquartersCopenhagen (per LinkedIn), DenmarkNot published
OwnerXero (since 2021, per LinkedIn)Not published
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

Named by both

  • ADP
  • Clover
  • Lightspeed
  • Paychex
  • QuickBooks Online
  • Square

Named only by Planday

  • All Gravy
  • Apicbase
  • Barma
  • Brightec Time
  • Expert LMS
  • Favrit
  • FlexEarn
  • Flow
  • GoodTill by SumUp
  • Hastee
  • Heartland Plus One
  • Lavu
and 16 more
  • Level
  • Lightspeed Retail
  • Mews
  • Microsoft Dynamics / Navision C5
  • PAXml
  • Personio
  • PMI by d2o
  • Runwell
  • Sage 50
  • Superb
  • Tenzo
  • Tipjar
  • TriNet
  • Wagestream
  • Xero
  • Zettle by PayPal

Named only by Time Clock by Homebase (Clover)

  • Bank of America
  • GoDaddy
  • Gusto
  • Heartland
  • Millennium Payroll Services
  • PAR
  • Shopify
  • Square Payroll
  • SurePayroll
  • Toast
  • Wells Fargo

Which to choose

Planday

Choose Planday if you fit its listed audience: Restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs with shift teams; Small businesses leaving spreadsheets; Multi-site operators.

Time Clock by Homebase (Clover)

Choose Time Clock by Homebase (Clover) if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Restaurants and small businesses already on Clover; Small hourly teams.

What we could not confirm

Planday

  • Contract minimum term and renewal (the subscription terms are a scanned PDF)
  • Founding year conflict: about page says 2004, LinkedIn says 2005
  • Google Play listing
  • Funding history
  • Exact country availability
  • Whether ISO 27001 and SOC 2 reports are available to customers

Time Clock by Homebase (Clover)

  • The Clover App Market listing itself, so any Clover-specific price and app rating
  • Currency of the published prices (page shows only a $ sign)
  • Whether the Clover app price differs from Homebase plan prices
  • Company legal name, founding year, headquarters and funding
  • Platform availability of the Clover app beyond Clover devices

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.

Planday, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepagehttps://www.planday.com
  2. Plans, prices, FAQhttps://www.planday.com/pricing
  3. Company, address, supporthttps://www.planday.com/about
  4. Schedulinghttps://www.planday.com/how-it-works/scheduling
  5. Time trackinghttps://www.planday.com/how-it-works/time-tracking
  6. Leavehttps://www.planday.com/how-it-works/absence-and-leave-management
  7. Reportinghttps://www.planday.com/how-it-works/reporting
  8. Mobile apphttps://www.planday.com/how-it-works/app
  9. Compliancehttps://www.planday.com/how-it-works/compliance
  10. Securityhttps://www.planday.com/how-it-works/compliance/security
  11. Integrationshttps://www.planday.com/how-it-works/integrations
  12. Hospitality fithttps://www.planday.com/who-we-help/hospitality
  13. Small business fithttps://www.planday.com/who-we-help/small-business
  14. Legal documentshttps://www.planday.com/legal
  15. App Store listinghttps://apps.apple.com/gb/app/planday-employee-scheduling/id518598166
  16. LinkedIn: HQ, Xero, team sizehttps://www.linkedin.com/company/planday