Apicbase vs Crunchtime vs Fourth
Apicbase is a cloud back-of-house platform for large multi-site foodservice businesses. Crunchtime is a suite of restaurant operations software for multi-unit brands, covering inventory and food cost, AI sales forecasting, labour scheduling, operational checklists and food safety, staff training, and kitchen display screens. Fourth is a cloud suite for restaurant and hospitality operators covering workforce management, inventory and purchasing, payroll and HR, and analytics. All three are listed under Multi-Unit & Enterprise Restaurant Operations. The main differences are in audience, countries covered and integrations.
Key differences
audience
Audience differs between the profiles. Listed by one product alone: Apicbase: Multi-unit restaurant groups; Crunchtime: Multi-unit restaurant chains; Fourth: Multi-location restaurant operators.
countries covered
Apicbase names 5 countries, Crunchtime names 3 countries and Fourth names 4 countries. 2 countries appear in every list.
integrations
Apicbase names 21 integrations, Crunchtime names 36 integrations and Fourth names 25 integrations. 4 partners appear in every list.
security and compliance
The security and compliance details they list differ. Apicbase: GDPR, SOC 2 Type 2; Crunchtime: SOC 1 Type 2, SOC 2 Type 2; Fourth: ISO 9001.
company background
Headquarters: Apicbase, Antwerp, Belgium; Crunchtime, Boston, United States; Fourth, Austin, United States.
Side by side
| Field | Apicbase | Crunchtime | Fourth |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Apicbase is a cloud back-of-house platform for large multi-site foodservice businesses. | Crunchtime is a suite of restaurant operations software for multi-unit brands, covering inventory and food cost, AI sales forecasting, labour scheduling, operational checklists and food safety, staff training, and kitchen display screens. | Fourth is a cloud suite for restaurant and hospitality operators covering workforce management, inventory and purchasing, payroll and HR, and analytics. |
| Best for | Multi-unit restaurant groups; Hotel chains and hotel F&B; Central kitchens and caterers; Ghost kitchen and meal-kit operators | Multi-unit restaurant chains; Franchise brands and franchisees; Quick-service and casual-dining brands with busy kitchens; Operators focused on food cost control | Multi-location restaurant operators; Enterprise and quick-service chains; Hotels, bars and retail; Operators wanting workforce and inventory in one vendor |
| Pricing model | Quote only | Quote only | Quote only |
| Starting price | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Free plan | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Free trial | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Contract | Not published | Not published | Set by the order form (initial term not stated in the terms) |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
| Countries | Belgium, Germany, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States | Mexico, United Kingdom, United States | Australia, Canada, United Kingdom, United States |
| Languages | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Number of integrations | 21 | 36 | 25 |
| Certifications | GDPR, SOC 2 Type 2 | SOC 1 Type 2, SOC 2 Type 2 | ISO 9001 |
| Security practices | Encryption in transit and at rest, daily backups, Hosted on AWS, SSO, multi-factor authentication and role-based permissions | Disaster recovery with stated 15-minute RPO and 2-hour RTO, HTTPS, multi-factor authentication, encryption in transit and at rest | Cloud hosting in US, EMEA and APAC data centres built to Tier 3 standards with zero-trust network design, Data processing agreement published |
| Founded | 2017 | Not published | Not published |
| Headquarters | Antwerp, Belgium | Boston, United States | Austin, United States |
| Owner | Not published | Merged with QSR Automations, LLC (announced June 2025); both are backed by investment firm Battery Ventures | Marlin Equity Partners (majority owner as of the 2019 acquisition; Insight Partners minority) |
| Last reviewed | 29 September 2026 | 29 September 2026 | 29 September 2026 |
Integrations
Named by all three
- Revel
- Sysco US
- Toast
- US Foods
Named only by Apicbase
- Aloha Cloud by NCR Voyix
- Bidfood UK
- Brakes
- Clover
- Deliverect
- Epos Now
- Foodics
- Goodtill
- Lightspeed
- Makro Netherlands
- Oracle Micros
- Sligro
and 3 moreshow fewer
- Transgourmet Germany
- Vectron
- Vita Mojo
Named only by Crunchtime
- ADP
- Appetize
- Baldor
- Ben E. Keith
- CBS Northstar
- Ceridian
- FranPOS
- Great Plains
- Harri
- InfoGenesis Cloud
- JD Edwards
- Lawson
and 11 moreshow fewer
- NetSuite
- PAR
- Paychex
- Paycom
- Paycor
- Paylocity
- Performance Food Group
- QuickBooks Online
- Rippling
- Ultipro
- Workday
Named only by Fourth
- BlueCats
- CareerBuilder
- Cooper-Atkins
- Digital Dining
- Focus
- HungerRush
- Indeed
- ITD Food Safety
- Monster
- PAR POS (formerly Brink)
- Restaurant Manager
- Snagajob
and 2 moreshow fewer
- Lightspeed U Series (formerly Upserve)
- Xenial IRIS
Which to choose
Apicbase
Choose Apicbase if you are in one of these groups: Multi-unit restaurant groups; Hotel chains and hotel F&B; Central kitchens and caterers.
Our profile lists a weaker fit: Single-site or very small businesses. The entry Growth plan is described as starting from 5 outlets, and the vendor positions the product for large and enterprise food businesses.
Crunchtime
Choose Crunchtime if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Multi-unit restaurant chains; Franchise brands and franchisees; Quick-service and casual-dining brands with busy kitchens.
Our profile lists a weaker fit: Single-site independents. The vendor describes its customers as multi-unit restaurant brands, publishes no small-business plan, and sells only through demos.
Fourth
Choose Fourth if you are in one of these groups: Multi-location restaurant operators; Enterprise and quick-service chains; Hotels, bars and retail.
What we could not confirm
Apicbase
- Any price or per-outlet fee (quote only)
- Contract length and renewal terms
- Free trial or free plan
- Official list of countries where it is sold and supported
- Interface languages of the product (site is in English, Dutch, French, German)
- Employee count and registration number
- Funding after the 2021 Series A
- Names of the 9 financial and accounting integrations (none found on the vendor's site)
- Names of the native mobile apps in the app stores
Crunchtime
- Any price, plan tier or free trial (demo only)
- Contract length and renewal terms
- Founding year (not stated on the vendor's site)
- Employee count and funding
- Official list of supported countries and languages
- Whether the integrations page shows every integration, and which POS work with which product
- Names of the mobile apps in the app stores beyond Teamworx
Fourth
- Any price; conditions of the free year of HotSchedules promotion
- Legal entity name and registration (several Fourth companies appear in the terms)
- Current ownership (the latest ownership event stated is the 2019 Marlin acquisition)
- Initial contract term and minimum length
- Interface languages and the full list of countries served
- Fourth iQ app platforms and availability dates
- Employee count
- Accounting integrations
- Customer counts differ between pages (120,000 locations on the homepage; 15,000 customers across 100,000 sites on the about page)
Sources
Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.
Apicbase, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Homepage: positioning, modules, AI, security summaryhttps://get.apicbase.com
- Plans, add-onshttps://get.apicbase.com/pricing-plans/
- Company: Belgium headquartershttps://get.apicbase.com/about/
- Offices in Antwerp and New Yorkhttps://get.apicbase.com/contact/
- Customer segments and exampleshttps://get.apicbase.com/customers/
- Case studies and countrieshttps://get.apicbase.com/cases/
- Security, SOC 2, apps, APIhttps://get.apicbase.com/trust-security-compliance/
- Allergen, HACCP, traceabilityhttps://get.apicbase.com/food-safety-and-compliance/
- Production planninghttps://get.apicbase.com/production-planning/
- Internal orderinghttps://get.apicbase.com/internal-ordering/
- Menu planninghttps://get.apicbase.com/menu-planning/
- Demand forecastinghttps://get.apicbase.com/demand-forecasting-software-restaurant/
- Carbon trackinghttps://get.apicbase.com/carbon-footprint-tracking-software/
- MCP / AI assistantshttps://get.apicbase.com/mcp/
- Mobile counting app, offlinehttps://get.apicbase.com/mobile-counting/
- POS integration directoryhttps://partners.apicbase.com/integrations/pos
- Supplier integration directoryhttps://partners.apicbase.com/integrations/suppliers
- Page discoveryhttps://get.apicbase.com/sitemap_index.xml
- Series A, founders, founding year, early customershttps://tech.eu/2021/05/19/antwerp-based-hospitality-tech-apicbase-cooks-up-e4-million-in-series-a-round/
Crunchtime, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Homepage: suite and navigationhttps://www.crunchtime.com
- Suite overviewhttps://www.crunchtime.com/suite-overview
- Company, offices, leadership, customershttps://www.crunchtime.com/about-us
- Inventory featureshttps://www.crunchtime.com/inventory-management
- Labour featureshttps://www.crunchtime.com/labor-and-scheduling
- Compliance ruleshttps://www.crunchtime.com/labor-and-scheduling/labor-law-compliance
- Teamworx apphttps://www.crunchtime.com/labor-and-scheduling/employee-scheduling-app
- Ops executionhttps://www.crunchtime.com/operations-execution
- Temperature monitoringhttps://www.crunchtime.com/ops-execution/temp-monitoring
- Kitchen displayhttps://www.crunchtime.com/kitchen
- Kitchen hardwarehttps://www.crunchtime.com/kitchen/hardware
- Host producthttps://www.crunchtime.com/host
- Insightshttps://www.crunchtime.com/crunchtime-insights
- Learning managementhttps://www.crunchtime.com/learning-and-development
- Integration listhttps://www.crunchtime.com/integrations
- Security and auditshttps://www.crunchtime.com/security
- Customershttps://www.crunchtime.com/our-customers
- Newshttps://www.crunchtime.com/press
- Merger with QSR Automationshttps://www.crunchtime.com/press/qsr-automations-agrees-to-merge-with-crunchtime
- Battery Ventures backing (press)https://www.builtinboston.com/articles/crunchtime-qsr-automations-merger-20250618
- Support hourshttps://www.crunchtime.com/support-policy
- Services and onboardinghttps://www.crunchtime.com/services
Fourth, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Homepage: positioning, 120,000 locations claimhttps://www.fourth.com/
- Company overview, customer claimshttps://www.fourth.com/company/about
- Offices and support numbershttps://www.fourth.com/company/contact
- HotSchedules features, apps, promotionhttps://www.fourth.com/product/hotschedules
- MacromatiXhttps://www.fourth.com/product/macromatix
- Workforce management featureshttps://www.fourth.com/solution/workforce-management-software
- Inventory featureshttps://www.fourth.com/solution/inventory-management
- Fourth iQ and named customershttps://www.fourth.com/solution/ai-intro
- Integration partnershttps://www.fourth.com/partner/integrations
- Renewal, fee changes, Fuego serviceshttps://www.fourth.com/legal/general-terms-and-conditions
- Hosting and securityhttps://www.fourth.com/legal/fourth-hosting-data-security
- Press releases: ISO 9001https://www.fourth.com/company/press-room
- 2019 acquisition, founding year, officeshttps://www.marlinequity.com/news/marlin-completes-the-acquisition-of-hotschedules-and-fourth/
- Data processing agreement (listed in sitemap)https://www.fourth.com/legal/data-processing-agreement
- System requirements page (listed in sitemap, not read)https://www.fourth.com/legal/minimum-system-requirements-for-all-systems

