Aireus POS vs Otter vs SpotOn Restaurant vs Truffle POS

Aireus POS is an Apple-native point of sale for restaurants, bars and hotels, running on iPad, Mac Mini, iMac and MacBook. Otter started as a tablet that gathers orders from delivery apps and is now sold as a restaurant point of sale system. SpotOn is a cloud-based point-of-sale system and restaurant management platform. Truffle POS is a cloud restaurant point-of-sale from Truffle Systems that bundles online and mobile ordering, kitchen display, inventory, cloud-kitchen order handling, reservations and loyalty. All four are listed under Restaurant POS. They differ in price, audience and platforms.

Key differences

  • price

    Starting prices: Aireus POS at $399 (currency not stated) per month; Otter at USD 79 per location per month; SpotOn Restaurant at USD 55 per station per month; Truffle POS at USD 39.99 per register per month, billed annually. The currency or billing basis differs, so they are not directly comparable.

  • audience

    Not every audience is shared. Entries that only one product lists: Aireus POS: Boutique hotels and resorts with several outlets; Otter: Quick service and fast casual restaurants taking online orders; SpotOn Restaurant: Full-service restaurants; Truffle POS: Quick-service restaurants, pizzerias and cafes.

  • platforms

    Listed platforms: Aireus POS: iOS, macOS; Otter: Web, iOS, Android; SpotOn Restaurant: Web, iOS, Android; Truffle POS: Web, iOS, Android.

  • countries covered

    Aireus POS names 3 countries, Otter names 4 countries, SpotOn Restaurant names 1 country and Truffle POS names 2 countries. 1 country appears in every list.

  • integrations

    The integration lists differ. Aireus POS names 18 integrations, Otter names 34 integrations, SpotOn Restaurant names 33 integrations and Truffle POS names 2 integrations. No partner appears in every list.

  • company background

    Aireus POS is based in Toronto, Canada, Otter in Los Angeles, United States, SpotOn Restaurant in United States and Truffle POS in Edmonton, Canada.

Side by side

Aireus POS vs Otter vs SpotOn Restaurant vs Truffle POS: side-by-side comparison from published vendor information
FieldAireus POSOtterSpotOn RestaurantTruffle POS
What it isAireus POS is an Apple-native point of sale for restaurants, bars and hotels, running on iPad, Mac Mini, iMac and MacBook.Otter started as a tablet that gathers orders from delivery apps and is now sold as a restaurant point of sale system.SpotOn is a cloud-based point-of-sale system and restaurant management platform.Truffle POS is a cloud restaurant point-of-sale from Truffle Systems that bundles online and mobile ordering, kitchen display, inventory, cloud-kitchen order handling, reservations and loyalty.
Best forBoutique hotels and resorts with several outlets; Multi-outlet restaurant groupsQuick service and fast casual restaurants taking online orders; Restaurants on several delivery apps; Food stands, small cafes and food trucks; Multi-store and high-volume restaurantsFull-service restaurants; Multi-location restaurant groups; Restaurants seeking integrated operationsQuick-service restaurants, pizzerias and cafes; Restaurants wanting their own online ordering; Multi-location brands and cloud kitchens; Hotels, campus dining, sports and amusement venues
Pricing modelSubscription per locationSubscription per locationSubscription per locationSubscription per register
Starting price$399 (currency not stated) per monthUSD 79 per location per monthUSD 55 per station per monthUSD 39.99 per register per month, billed annually
Free planNoNot publishedYesNot published
Free trialNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
ContractNot publishedMonthly plans renew monthly; hardware leases need 24 months2 years minimum for All-In PlanAnnual billing (term not stated)
PlatformsiOS, macOSWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb, iOS, Android
CountriesCanada, Caribbean, United StatesAustralia, Canada, United Kingdom, United StatesUnited StatesCanada, United States
LanguagesNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Number of integrations1834332
CertificationsNot publishedCCPA, GDPRNot publishedNot published
Security practicesApple platform security (Secure Enclave, FileVault, device attestation); no certification namedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Founded2007Not published2017Not published
HeadquartersToronto, CanadaLos Angeles, United StatesUnited StatesEdmonton, Canada
OwnerNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Last reviewed29 September 202629 September 202629 September 202629 September 2026

Integrations

No partner appears in every list.

Named only by Aireus POS

  • Agilysys
  • Avero
  • Card Connect
  • Givex
  • Global Payments
  • Maestro PMS
  • Oracle Opera
  • Paytronix
  • QuickBooks
  • Sage
  • Springer Miller SMS|Host
  • WorldPay
and 1 more
  • Xero

Named only by Otter

  • ChowNow
  • Deputy
  • DoorDash Drive
  • Epos Now
  • ezCater
  • Flipdish
  • GoTab
  • Grubhub
  • Homebase
  • Hungry Panda
  • Lavu
  • Lightspeed
and 15 more
  • Loyverse
  • MarketMan
  • Micros
  • Order with Google
  • Brink
  • POSitouch
  • Postmates
  • Revel
  • Seamless
  • Shipday
  • Skip the Dishes
  • Slice
  • Squirrel Systems
  • Stripe
  • Toast

Named only by SpotOn Restaurant

  • ADP
  • BarTrack
  • Barvision
  • Beer Saver
  • bevCheck
  • Captain
  • Checkmate
  • Chowly
  • Compeat
  • DAVO
  • Deliverect
  • Fresh KDS
and 17 more
  • Google
  • Gusto
  • Loman AI
  • Maple
  • MarginEdge
  • OpenTable
  • Paychex
  • Popmenu
  • Reddie menu boards
  • Shogo
  • SpotOn KDS
  • SpotOn Kiosk
  • SpotOn Order
  • SpotOn Reserve
  • SpotOn Teamwork
  • SpotOn Teamwork Payroll
  • Tenzo

Named only by Truffle POS

  • CenterEdge

Which to choose

Aireus POS

Choose Aireus POS if you fit its listed audience: Boutique hotels and resorts with several outlets; Multi-outlet restaurant groups.

Our profile lists a weaker fit: One or two iPad cafes, single-station coffee shops, one-iPad bars without PMS, loyalty or AI needs, and pop-ups or food trucks on a budget; the vendor's pricing page says a basic starter POS costs less for these.

Otter

Choose Otter if you are in one of these groups: Quick service and fast casual restaurants taking online orders; Restaurants on several delivery apps; Food stands, small cafes and food trucks.

SpotOn Restaurant

Choose SpotOn Restaurant if you are in one of these groups: Full-service restaurants; Multi-location restaurant groups; Restaurants seeking integrated operations.

Truffle POS

Choose Truffle POS if you are in one of these groups: Quick-service restaurants, pizzerias and cafes; Restaurants wanting their own online ordering; Multi-location brands and cloud kitchens.

What we could not confirm

Aireus POS

  • Contract length, free trial and price above 15 iPads
  • Legal entity, team size and funding
  • Full country list behind the vendor's 14-country claim
  • Interface languages and security certifications

Otter

  • Base prices of the Lite and Standard order-aggregation plans (the details page lists features but not the plan prices)
  • Enterprise or multi-location pricing (the site offers a quote)
  • Founding year, founders, funding and parent company: the site has no About page and states none of these
  • Employee count
  • Full list of countries and which integrations work in which country; the vendor's own customer claims differ (100,000+ restaurants on the homepage, 275k+ customers and 40+ countries on the why-otter page)
  • Interface languages of the product (the marketing site has Spanish, French and Portuguese versions)
  • Security certifications such as SOC 2 or PCI level
  • Free trial or free plan
  • Whether Otter is owned by or affiliated with another company: the legal terms mention affiliates but name none

SpotOn Restaurant

  • Security certifications (SOC 2, PCI DSS, etc)
  • Complete list of countries where available
  • Interface languages supported
  • Headquarters city
  • Funding history and investors
  • Employee count
  • Exact founding details beyond 2017
  • Whether free trial is available
  • Complete technical specifications for hardware

Truffle POS

  • Founding year, legal entity, founders, funding, team size
  • Full integrations list (accounting, delivery marketplaces)
  • Contract length and free trial
  • Security certifications
  • The vendor's claim of 1,500+ restaurants is unaudited

Sources

Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.

Otter, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Homepage: positioning, pricing bundles, comparison, claimshttps://www.tryotter.com
  2. POS bundle prices, processing fees, hardware termshttps://www.tryotter.com/pricing
  3. Order aggregation plan details, add-on prices, hardware priceshttps://www.tryotter.com/pricing-details-aggregate
  4. Integration partner listhttps://www.tryotter.com/integrations
  5. POS product pagehttps://www.tryotter.com/products/otterpos
  6. Order Managerhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/order-management
  7. Kitchen displayhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/kds
  8. Kioskhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/kiosk
  9. Online orderinghttps://www.tryotter.com/products/online-ordering
  10. Cateringhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/catering
  11. Menu managementhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/menu-management
  12. Loyaltyhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/loyalty
  13. Marketing automationhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/marketing
  14. Ratings and reviewshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/ratings-and-reviews
  15. Financialshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/financials
  16. Analyticshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/analytics
  17. Live alertshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/live-alerts
  18. Website builderhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/website-builder
  19. Virtual brandshttps://www.tryotter.com/products/virtual-brands
  20. Inventory Savings cash backhttps://www.tryotter.com/products/inventory-savings
  21. Otter Go apphttps://www.tryotter.com/products/app
  22. Company claims, customer nameshttps://www.tryotter.com/why-otter
  23. FAQ topicshttps://www.tryotter.com/faq
  24. Legal terms by regionhttps://www.tryotter.com/legal
  25. Legal entity, billing and cancellation termshttps://www.tryotter.com/legal/tech-services
  26. Legal entity and Los Angeles addresshttps://www.tryotter.com/legal/privacy-policy
  27. Page discovery; UK and Australian site versionshttps://www.tryotter.com/sitemap.xml

SpotOn Restaurant, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Restaurant POS product page with featureshttps://www.spoton.com/restaurant-pos/
  2. Company homepage and overviewhttps://www.spoton.com/
  3. Pricing plans and detailshttps://www.spoton.com/pricing/
  4. Integrations listhttps://www.spoton.com/integrations/
  5. Hardware options and specificationshttps://www.spoton.com/hardware/
  6. Support and contact informationhttps://www.spoton.com/contact/
  7. Customer case studieshttps://www.spoton.com/case-studies/
  8. Company value proposition and differentiatorshttps://www.spoton.com/why-spoton/

Truffle POS, reviewed 29 September 2026

  1. Product overview, pricing tiers, customers, footerhttps://trufflesystems.io/pos/
  2. Online ordering and delivery features, appshttps://trufflesystems.io/online-ordering-us/
  3. Customer storieshttps://trufflesystems.io/customers/
  4. Page discoveryhttps://trufflesystems.io/page-sitemap.xml