Food Waste Tracking & Reduction

16 products listed

Introduction

Most kitchens know they throw food away, but few know how much, which items or at what stage. Waste tracking software records it. The main kinds are camera-and-scale systems fitted over the bin, which identify each discarded item automatically, and manual or tablet systems where staff log waste by hand. The dashboard then shows waste by item, day and site, often with a cost and a carbon figure, so you can change purchasing and production. A different kind of product sells surplus food to customers before it is thrown out.

Who needs it

Hotels, contract caterers, canteens and restaurant groups that produce a lot of food and want to cut the amount thrown away. It becomes worth having when you suspect over-production or over-buying but have no figures to prove it. Supermarkets are served too.

Written 30 September 2026

What to look for

  • Automatic or manual capture. Camera and scale units record waste without extra work from staff, but need installing. Tablet logging is cheaper, but only works if staff use it.

  • Own hardware and how it is supplied. All 16 profiles mention hardware of some kind. Check whether the scale is bought or rented, and who installs and maintains it.

  • What the reports tell you. Look for waste by item, by stage and by site, with a cost figure, rather than a single weight total.

  • Forecasting and production links. Some products feed waste data into production planning or forecasting. Others only report.

  • Retail or kitchen focus. A few products target supermarkets with markdowns and expiry checks, while others suit commercial kitchens. Pick the one that matches your operation.

At a glance

  • 12 products have a profile.

  • 1 publish a starting price and 10 are quote only.

  • The median product names 0 integrations.

Most named integration partners: CBORD (1), DoorDash (1), Galley (1), Inmar Intelligence (1), Instacart (1), Jamix (1).

Of the 16 profiled products, 13 are quote only, and one publishes a monthly price per property that includes hardware rental. One marketplace for surplus food takes a percentage of sales instead of a subscription.

Compare products

16products with a profile. Ordered by how many columns are filled, then by name. Select a column heading to sort.

Food Waste Tracking & Reduction: products compared from published vendor information
ProductBest forStarting priceFree planFree trialPlatformsIntegrationsLast reviewed
Toast restaurants wanting self-serve forecastsUSD 50 per location per monthYesNot statedWeb429 September 2026
Hotel, pub and restaurant groups controlling purchasing costsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb2229 September 2026
Hotel groups and resortsCHF 349 per monthNot statedNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
Contract caterers and multi-site foodservice accountsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb329 September 2026
Fast-casual and quick-service chainsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android329 September 2026
Hotel and multi-kitchen operatorsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, Android429 September 2026
Grocery chains with large fresh departmentsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb929 September 2026
Multi-site food service and hospitality groupsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, AndroidNone named29 September 2026
Produce buyersNot publishedNot statedNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
Universities and collegesNot publishedNot statedNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
HotelsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
Bakeries, cafes and restaurants with daily unsold foodNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOSNone named29 September 2026
Hotels and resortsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
Hotels and hotel groupsNot publishedNot statedNot statedNot publishedNone named29 September 2026
Supermarket and grocery chainsNot publishedNot statedNot statedNot publishedNone named29 September 2026
Food service operators with high food wasteNot publishedNot statedNot statedNot publishedNone named29 September 2026

Figures come from vendors' own published information, last reviewed on 29 September 2026. See how we list products.