Payroll
15 products listed
Introduction
Payroll software works out what each person is owed from their hours, rates, tips and deductions, produces payslips and pays them. In a food business the hard part is the input: hours change by the week, staff work several roles and tips have to be counted. Some products are full payroll services that calculate and file taxes. Others are rota and time tools that prepare hours and export them to a separate payroll provider, and a few offer a managed payroll service on top. Rules on tax, pension and pay differ a great deal from one country to the next, so check what a product handles where you operate.
Who needs it
Any employer with staff on the books. It becomes a live question when payroll is done by hand from timesheets, when tips complicate every pay run, or when your scheduling or till software could send hours across automatically. Very small teams sometimes use an accountant instead; larger ones tend to want hours flowing in without retyping.
Written 30 September 2026
What to look for
Full payroll or export only. Some products calculate pay and file taxes, while others only prepare hours for a separate provider. Confirm which one you are buying.
Countries it supports. Of the 13 profiled products, 9 list the United States and 5 the United Kingdom, and some are single-country. Payroll rules are local, so check it supports yours.
Tips and tip credits handled. US-focused products calculate tip credits and import tips from the till. If tips are large, this matters more than a low base fee.
Link to your POS or rota tool. Some products pull timecards and tips from a specific POS. That saves retyping, but locks you to that till.
How the fees are structured. Some charge a flat monthly fee plus a fee per person paid. Others charge per location or quote only, so compare at your real headcount.
At a glance
Of the 13 profiled products, 5 are quote only and 3 are priced per location. One charges a base fee plus a fee per person paid, and several sell payroll as an add-on to a scheduling or POS product.
Compare products
13products with a profile. Ordered by how many columns are filled, then by name. Select a column heading to sort.
| Product | Best for | Starting price | Free plan | Free trial | Platforms | Integrations | Last reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single restaurants and small teams | CAD 39.99 per location per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 26 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and hotels with shift teams | USD 5 per user per month | No | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 25 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Small single-site food businesses | USD 30 per location per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 17 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and hotels in France and neighbouring countries | EUR 79 per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 23 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and cafes using Square POS | USD 35 per month, plus $6 per month per person paid | No | Not stated | Web | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| F&B outlets and small chains in Singapore | SGD 89 per roster | Yes | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 20 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant operators | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 25 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant and cafe groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 16 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-site hospitality groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 9 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and franchises in the US and Canada | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 10 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 15 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Lightspeed Restaurant POS users in the US | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | 1 | 29 September 2026 |
Products without a full profile
Figures come from vendors' own published information, last reviewed on 29 September 2026. See how we list products.








