Square Loyalty vs SumUp Connect
Square Loyalty is a points-based customer rewards program that runs on Square's point of sale, Square Online and invoices. SumUp Connect is a customer loyalty and automated marketing tool from SumUp, and its own pages still refer to the Fivestars by SumUp loyalty system. Both are listed under Loyalty & Rewards. The main differences are in price, audience and integrations.
Key differences
price
SumUp Connect publishes a starting price of $269 (currency not stated) per month. Square Loyalty does not publish a starting price.
audience
Audience differs between the profiles. Listed by one product alone: Square Loyalty: Cafes, bakeries and small restaurants already on Square; SumUp Connect: Coffee shops, quick-service restaurants and restaurants.
integrations
The integration lists differ. Square Loyalty names 10 integrations and SumUp Connect names 1 integration. No partner appears in every list.
company background
Founding years: Square Loyalty, 2009; SumUp Connect, 2012. By owner, Square Loyalty (Block, Inc.) and SumUp Connect (SumUp).
Side by side
| Field | Square Loyalty | SumUp Connect |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Square Loyalty is a points-based customer rewards program that runs on Square's point of sale, Square Online and invoices. | SumUp Connect is a customer loyalty and automated marketing tool from SumUp, and its own pages still refer to the Fivestars by SumUp loyalty system. |
| Best for | Cafes, bakeries and small restaurants already on Square; Owners who want a simple rewards programme without a separate tool | Coffee shops, quick-service restaurants and restaurants; Small businesses that want automated repeat-customer marketing |
| Pricing model | Included in a Square plan | Subscription per month |
| Starting price | Not published | $269 (currency not stated) per month |
| Free plan | Not published | No |
| Free trial | Yes | Not published |
| Contract | None stated; the page says no locked-in contracts and you can cancel or switch plans anytime | Not published |
| Platforms | Web | Web |
| Countries | Australia, Canada, France, Ireland, Japan, Spain and 2 more | Not published |
| Languages | Not published | Not published |
| Number of integrations | 10 | 1 |
| Certifications | Not published | Not published |
| Security practices | Not published | Not published |
| Founded | 2009 | 2012 |
| Headquarters | Not published | Not published |
| Owner | Block, Inc. | SumUp |
| Last reviewed | 29 September 2026 | 29 September 2026 |
Integrations
No partner appears in every list.
Named only by Square Loyalty
- Craver
- Flash Order
- Grubbrr
- Incentivio
- KIOS
- Kiosk Buddy
- Kyoo
- Pepper
- PoppinPay
- SpeedETab
Named only by SumUp Connect
- SumUp POS
Which to choose
Square Loyalty
Choose Square Loyalty if you are in one of these groups: Cafes, bakeries and small restaurants already on Square; Owners who want a simple rewards programme without a separate tool.
SumUp Connect
Choose SumUp Connect if your business matches one of the audiences it is listed for: Coffee shops, quick-service restaurants and restaurants; Small businesses that want automated repeat-customer marketing.
What we could not confirm
Square Loyalty
- Price of the plan that includes Loyalty (plan prices are not in the page text)
- Headquarters, legal entity and employee count
- What each marketplace integration does
- Security certifications for Loyalty specifically
- Interface languages
SumUp Connect
- Currency of the published prices (page shows only a $ sign)
- Whether prices are per location
- The acquisition date of Fivestars by SumUp (not stated on the vendor's site)
- Integrations with other point-of-sale systems
- Contract term
- Countries, languages and security certifications
- SumUp headquarters and funding
Go further
Sources
Facts on this page come from the pages below. Prices and features change, so confirm with each vendor before you buy.
Square Loyalty, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Product page: features, integrations, trial, customershttps://squareup.com/us/en/software/loyalty
- Plan feature list and pricing texthttps://squareup.com/us/en/pricing
- Company history, parent, regionshttps://squareup.com/us/en/about
- UK Loyalty page (country availability)https://squareup.com/gb/en/software/loyalty
- Australian Loyalty page (country availability)https://squareup.com/au/en/software/loyalty
SumUp Connect, reviewed 29 September 2026
- Product overview (fivestars.com redirects here)https://www.sumup.com/en-us/loyalty-program/
- Plans and priceshttps://www.sumup.com/en-us/loyalty-program/pricing/
- Loyalty featureshttps://www.sumup.com/en-us/loyalty-program/loyalty-rewards/
- Marketing featureshttps://www.sumup.com/en-us/loyalty-program/automated-marketing/
- Customer directoryhttps://www.sumup.com/en-us/loyalty-program/customer-directory/
- Company and supporthttps://www.sumup.com/en-us/about/