Digital Menu Boards & Signage

12 products listed

Introduction

Menu boards above the counter used to mean printing and swapping panels. Digital menu board software runs on ordinary screens or commercial displays and changes what is shown by time of day, site or stock. A price can be updated once for every location. Some products link to the point of sale, so an item marked as sold out disappears from the board. Others are general signage tools that also play music, promotions or visitor analytics. Drive-through screens and order confirmation boards are a related use. Each site needs a screen, a small media player and a stable internet connection.

Who needs it

Quick-service restaurants, cafes, bars and food trucks with a counter menu, and multi-site brands that need every board to show the same prices. It becomes worth having when prices or promotions change often, when you want a different menu by daypart, or when several sites must stay in step. A single fixed menu may not need it.

Written 30 September 2026

What to look for

  • Price per screen, zone or site. Menuboard Manager starts at $89 per screen, SmarterSign at $30 and Nento at $20 a month, while Rockbot charges per zone. Multiply by your number of screens.

  • Software only or supplied hardware. Nento runs on existing TVs and streaming sticks. CrownTV supplies commercial displays, players and installation, and publishes prices for installed hardware bundles.

  • POS price and stock sync. Menuboard Manager syncs prices and sold-out items on higher plans, and SmarterSign lists Square sync. Without it, staff edit the boards by hand.

  • Drive-thru and order boards. Menuboard Manager offers order confirmation and order ready boards, while Stream Digital Signage and Delphi Display Systems cover outdoor drive-thru displays. Check the product covers the screens you use.

  • Multi-location control of boards. 8 of the 11 profiles mention multi-location features. CrownTV lists franchisee permissions and overrides, which matter if sites can change their own prices.

  • Menu design help. Nento and CrownTV offer menu design services, while Menuboard Manager expects you to import from design tools such as Canva. Decide who will build the layouts.

At a glance

  • 5 products have a profile.

  • 3 publish a starting price and 2 are quote only.

  • 0% of the 1 products that state it have a free plan.

  • 100% of the 2 products that state it have a free trial.

  • The median product names 3 integrations.

Most named integration partners: Square (3), Toast (2), 7shifts (1), NCR Aloha (1), Amazon Signage Stick (1), BrightSign (1).

Of the 11 profiled products, 6 are quote only and 3 charge per screen. One charges per location and one per zone, and some sell installed hardware bundles instead of a subscription.

Compare products

11products with a profile. Ordered by how many columns are filled, then by name. Select a column heading to sort.

Digital Menu Boards & Signage: products compared from published vendor information
ProductBest forStarting priceFree planFree trialPlatformsIntegrationsLast reviewed
Multi-location restaurant brands and food service operatorsUSD 30 per screen per monthNoYesWeb329 September 2026
Quick-service and drive-thru restaurantsUSD 89 per screen per monthNot statedYesWeb1029 September 2026
Restaurants, cafes and barsUSD 25 per zone per month, 12-month termNot statedYesWeb329 September 2026
Independent restaurantsUSD 24 per month, paid annuallyNot statedNot statedWeb629 September 2026
Cafes, bakeries and delisNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb129 September 2026
Hotels and hotel groupsNot publishedNot statedYesWebNone named29 September 2026
Small restaurants, cafes and food trucks$20 (currency not stated) per screen per monthNot statedNot statedWeb, AndroidNone named29 September 2026
Multi-location restaurant and bar brandsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb1329 September 2026
Quick-service restaurants with a drive-thruNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb1929 September 2026
Enterprise quick-service chainsNot publishedNot statedNot statediOS, Android, Windows129 September 2026
Quick-service and fast-casual chains with drive-thrusNot publishedNot statedNot statedNot publishedNone named29 September 2026

Products without a full profile

Figures come from vendors' own published information, last reviewed on 29 September 2026. See how we list products.