Payment Processing for Food Businesses
26 products listed
Introduction
Card payments involve a terminal or app that reads the card, a processor that moves the money, and fees on every sale. The products in this category are mainly payment companies, though several are tills sold together with their own processing. Some suit a single cafe with a portable card reader, while others serve large chains and software platforms with fleet management and reconciliation. Terminals for pay-at-table, tap-to-pay on a phone and mobile use appear in the profiles. Of the 21 profiled products, 9 mention a percentage fee, so fee structure is usually the first thing to compare.
Who needs it
Any food business that takes cards, from a market stall to a restaurant group. It becomes worth comparing providers when fees eat noticeably into margins, when you add pay-at-table or tips, or when you open more sites. Providers are often tied to specific countries and banks, so check availability where you trade.
Written 30 September 2026
What to look for
Percentage or per-transaction fees. Some vendors charge a percentage of sales and others a fixed fee per transaction plus a scheme fee. Model both at your average ticket size.
Terminal rental and contract length. Terms in the profiles include no contract, 12 months for card machines and 18 months for a hospitality EPOS. Check any monthly rent.
Integrates with your till. Pay-at-table needs the terminal to talk to your POS. Confirm your till is supported or that the provider offers its own.
Availability in your country. Several providers serve one country or region only. The profiles list where each operates.
Pay-at-table and tap-to-pay. Portable terminals and phone-based tap-to-pay suit table service and pop-ups. Check the hardware costs and which methods are accepted.
At a glance
12 products have a profile.
1 publish a starting price and 5 are quote only.
50% of the 2 products that state it have a free plan.
100% of the 1 products that state it have a free trial.
The median product names 5 integrations.
Most named integration partners: Shopify (6), WooCommerce (5), Magento (4), OpenCart (3), PrestaShop (3), Xero (3).
Of the 21 profiled products, 5 are quote only and 3 charge a percentage of sales. Others charge a per-transaction fee, a subscription per location plus transaction fees, or a subscription with card fees. Few publish rates.
Compare products
21products with a profile. Ordered by how many columns are filled, then by name. Select a column heading to sort.
| Product | Best for | Starting price | Free plan | Free trial | Platforms | Integrations | Last reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small and single-location restaurants, cafes and bars | USD 49 per location per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent restaurants and cafes in South Africa | ZAR 249 per location per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 11 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Table-service and quick-service restaurants | USD 29.99 per month | Not stated | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 25 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Full-service restaurants | USD 69 per month | No | Not stated | Web, iOS | 20 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and cafes already taking SumUp payments | GBP 49 per month, excluding VAT | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS | 28 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Small cafes and takeaways that want a low-cost card reader | Not published | Yes | Not stated | iOS, Android | 13 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Small restaurants, cafes and bars in Mexico | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 6 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Full-service restaurants and bars | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 6 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and cafes in Saudi Arabia | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, Android | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Full-service restaurants | Not published | Not stated | Yes | Not published | 18 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Single-location restaurants | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | iOS | 19 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, cafes and hotels in Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Egypt | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 11 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and cafes in Kenya and East Africa that need M-Pesa and card payments | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 9 | 29 September 2026 | |
| French restaurants that accept meal vouchers | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent UK hospitality businesses | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 8 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Australian cafes, restaurants, bars, pubs and bakeries | Not published | No | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| German restaurants, bars and cafes | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurant chains and franchises | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | iOS, Android | 2 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Enterprise restaurant chains and franchises | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Full-service restaurants | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Full-service restaurants | USD 55 per station per month | Yes | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 33 | 29 September 2026 |
Products without a full profile
Related categories
Figures come from vendors' own published information, last reviewed on 29 September 2026. See how we list products.












