Food Retail POS (grocery, butcher, deli)

27 products listed

Introduction

Selling food by weight, by the pack or by the case needs a till that talks to scales and stock. This category covers point-of-sale software for grocers, butchers, delis, fishmongers, bakery shops and drinks retailers. Features that a restaurant till rarely has appear here: scale integration, barcode labels, age checks for alcohol, deposit handling for empties, and food-benefit payments in some countries. Several products are designed around one country's fiscal rules, such as certified tills in France. Of the 27 profiled products, 13 mention offline use, which helps when a shop must keep serving through a connection drop.

Who needs it

Independent grocers, butchers, delicatessens, cheese shops, fishmongers and liquor stores. It becomes worth having when weighing and labelling by hand slows the counter, when stock losses are unclear, or when regulations require a certified till. Small counter shops can start simple, while supermarkets need lanes and back-office tools. Check the rules in your country.

Written 30 September 2026

What to look for

  • Scale and label integration. Butchers and delis need weighed prices and printed labels at the counter. Check which scale brands the software supports.

  • Country-specific compliance built in. Some products cover French certified tills, US food-benefit payments or German deposit handling. A product from elsewhere may not.

  • Age verification for alcohol. Liquor and wine retailers need ID checks and pack or case stock. A few products in the profiles are built specifically for this.

  • Stock, batch and traceability tools. Some products track lots, expiry and shrinkage, while others only record sales. Decide how much stock control you need.

  • Quote-only pricing is common. 13 of the 27 profiled products are quote only. Ask what hardware bundles, payment processing and support add to the price.

At a glance

  • 19 products have a profile.

  • 7 publish a starting price and 11 are quote only.

  • 0% of the 2 products that state it have a free plan.

  • 100% of the 2 products that state it have a free trial.

  • The median product names 7 integrations.

Most named integration partners: QuickBooks (8), Ingenico (5), DoorDash (4), Local Express (4), WooCommerce (4), Zebra (4).

Of the 27 profiled products, 13 are quote only and 2 charge a subscription per location. Others use per-lane, per-terminal or per-month subscriptions, some with one-off licence options. Free open-source software with paid support appears once.

Compare products

27products with a profile. Ordered by how many columns are filled, then by name. Select a column heading to sort.

Food Retail POS (grocery, butcher, deli): products compared from published vendor information
ProductBest forStarting priceFree planFree trialPlatformsIntegrationsLast reviewed
Pubs, bars, cafes and takeawaysGBP 299 one-offNoNot statedWeb, iOS1229 September 2026
Single-outlet restaurants, bakeries and barsNot publishedNoYesWeb, iOS, Android, Windows2529 September 2026
Specialty food and drink retailUSD 59 per terminal per monthNot statedYesWeb229 September 2026
Independent grocery and convenience storesUSD 19.95 per monthNoNot statedWeb, iOS, Android529 September 2026
Small and medium businesses that want free, open source POSGBP 6 per month, charged yearlyYesNot statedWeb, Windows, macOS, Linux229 September 2026
Artisan bakeries and pastry shopsEUR 32 per month, billed annuallyNot statedNot statedWeb, Windows429 September 2026
Bakeries, butchers, fishmongers and delis in FranceEUR 55 per monthNot statedNot statedWeb, Windows729 September 2026
Independent grocers and supermarketsUSD 49 per monthNot statedNot statedWeb1629 September 2026
Independent grocers and specialty marketsUSD 49 per month, billed annuallyNot statedNot statedWeb1929 September 2026
Restaurants and QSR chains in Saudi ArabiaNot publishedNot statedYesWeb429 September 2026
Restaurants and bars in Germany and neighbouring marketsEUR 29.9 per POS system per monthNot statedNot statedWeb, Android, Windows1629 September 2026
Independent wine and liquor storesUSD 79 per monthNot statedNot statedAndroid829 September 2026
Wholesale bakeriesNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb1929 September 2026
Beverage shops and drinks wholesalers with several branchesNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS329 September 2026
Grocery and bulk (vrac) shopsNot publishedNot statedNot statedAndroid, Windows1429 September 2026
Butchers, delis, cheese shops and greengrocersNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb229 September 2026
Meat markets and butcher shops selling by weightNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb729 September 2026
Butchers, delis and seafood shops$198 (currency not stated) per monthNot statedNot statedNot published1229 September 2026
French butchers, delis and caterersNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb329 September 2026
Restaurants and brasseries in FranceNot publishedNot statedNot statediOS, Android, Windows1229 September 2026
US restaurants and small chainsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
Supermarkets, butchers, bakeries and delis with fresh-food countersNot publishedNot statedNot statedWindowsNone named29 September 2026
Liquor stores and package storesNot publishedNot statedNot statedNot published729 September 2026
Bakeries and pastry shopsNot publishedNot statedNot statedAndroid, WindowsNone named29 September 2026
Supermarkets and grocery chainsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
Supermarkets and grocery chains going onlineNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, AndroidNone named29 September 2026
Independent supermarketsNot publishedNot statedNot statedNot published2229 September 2026

Figures come from vendors' own published information, last reviewed on 29 September 2026. See how we list products.