Recipe Costing & Menu Engineering

41 products listed

Introduction

Ingredient prices move, and a dish that made money in spring can lose it by autumn. Recipe costing software stores each recipe with its ingredients and yields, prices it from your supplier costs, and shows the margin per portion. Menu engineering goes a step further by comparing that margin with how often each dish sells, so you can see which items to promote, reprice or drop. Many products also hold allergen and nutrition data on the same recipe, and some update costs automatically from scanned supplier invoices, so plate costs stay current without retyping prices.

Who needs it

Chefs and owners who still cost dishes in a spreadsheet, bakeries and caterers who price by the batch, and groups that want the same recipe costed the same way at every site. It becomes worth having when supplier prices change often enough that your menu prices drift out of date.

Written 30 September 2026

What to look for

  • How ingredient prices stay current. Some products take prices from scanned invoices or supplier feeds. Others rely on you typing them in, which is how spreadsheets go stale.

  • Recipe costing only or a full suite. Some products cost recipes and nothing else. Others sit inside inventory, purchasing and accounting systems, which suits groups but costs more.

  • Allergen and nutrition data. Of the 40 profiled products, 25 mention allergen handling. If you need to print labels or calorie counts, check that the recipe record feeds them.

  • Recipe limits on entry plans. Cheaper plans often cap the number of recipes or ingredients. Count your own before you compare prices.

  • Kitchen type it was built for. The set covers restaurants, bakeries, hotels and care-home catering. Yield, scaling and production planning matter more to some than to others.

At a glance

  • 17 products have a profile.

  • 15 publish a starting price and 3 are quote only.

  • Among 8 products that publish a flat monthly price in USD, the median is USD 31.59 per month.

  • 100% of the 1 products that state it have a free plan.

  • 100% of the 6 products that state it have a free trial.

  • The median product names 4 integrations.

Most named integration partners: QuickBooks (5), Square (4), Toast (4), Caterease (2), MarginEdge (2), NiceLabel (2).

Of the 40 profiled products, 18 are quote only and 8 charge per location. Of the eight with a flat published monthly price in US dollars, the range in our data is 19 to 129, with a median of 31.59. Several offer a free trial or a free entry plan.

Compare products

40products with a profile. Ordered by how many columns are filled, then by name. Select a column heading to sort.

Recipe Costing & Menu Engineering: products compared from published vendor information
ProductBest forStarting priceFree planFree trialPlatformsIntegrationsLast reviewed
Hotel groups and multi-outlet F&B operationsGBP 75 per monthNot statedYesWeb529 September 2026
Independent restaurants and cafesUSD 249 per monthNoNot statedWeb, iOS, Android2029 September 2026
Multi-unit restaurant groupsUSD 19 per month (billed annually)Not statedYesWeb1029 September 2026
Independent, single-site restaurantsUSD 19.99 per monthNot statedYesWeb229 September 2026
Independent restaurantsUSD 49 per monthNot statedYesWeb3129 September 2026
Multi-unit and franchise restaurant chainsUSD 150 per monthNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android1929 September 2026
Home bakers and cake decoratorsUSD 149 first year, then $36 per yearNot statedNot statedWeb329 September 2026
Independent restaurants and small chainsUSD 2,995 one-offNot statedNot statedWeb, Windows929 September 2026
Multi-location restaurant brandsUSD 199 per location per monthNot statedNot statedWeb2629 September 2026
Restaurant chainsEUR 174.9 per location per monthNot statedNot statedWeb2029 September 2026
Contract dining and onsite foodserviceUSD 99 per monthNot statedNot statedWeb1429 September 2026
Ambitious independent restaurants and pubsGBP 129 per location per monthNot statedNot statedWeb729 September 2026
Independent restaurants and multi-unit groupsUSD 350 per location per monthNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS2929 September 2026
Bakeries and food manufacturers needing nutrition labelsUSD 39 per monthNot statedNot statedWindows129 September 2026
Chef-led kitchens managing recipes and food costUSD 180 per unit per monthNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android629 September 2026
Prepared meals, grab-and-go and packaged foodUSD 129 per monthNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android429 September 2026
Independent restaurants and small kitchensEUR 50 per month, excluding VATNot statedYesWebNone named29 September 2026
Restaurants and kitchens replacing spreadsheets for food costingUSD 24 per month, billed annuallyYesNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
Restaurants and food trucks that need recipe costingUSD 24.17 per month, billed annuallyNot statedYesWeb, iOS, AndroidNone named29 September 2026
Multi-branch restaurant groupsUSD 250 per monthNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android1929 September 2026
Small and medium hotel and restaurant groupsNot publishedNot statedYesWeb229 September 2026
Restaurant groupsEUR 95 per monthNot statedNot statedWeb129 September 2026
Multi-unit restaurant groupsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android2129 September 2026
Restaurant groups and chainsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb1429 September 2026
Hospital and health system foodserviceNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb329 September 2026
Multi-unit restaurant groupsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb2129 September 2026
Multi-unit restaurant chainsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android3629 September 2026
University dining programsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb429 September 2026
Contract caterersNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb1829 September 2026
Institutional and contract foodserviceNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb329 September 2026
Senior living and skilled nursing communitiesNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb1829 September 2026
Restaurant chains that must publish nutrition informationNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb129 September 2026
Restaurants and multi-unit groups watching food costNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb1529 September 2026
Multi-location restaurant groupsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android1529 September 2026
Multi-location restaurant and bar groupsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android1529 September 2026
Multi-unit franchise and corporate restaurant chainsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, Android3929 September 2026
US restaurants and groups tracking food costNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb829 September 2026
K-12 school nutrition programsNot publishedNot statedNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
Restaurant chains needing FDA menu labelingNot publishedNot statedNot statedWebNone named29 September 2026
Restaurant, pub and cafe groups needing allergen and calorie complianceNot publishedNot statedNot statedWeb, iOS, AndroidNone named29 September 2026

Products without a full profile

Figures come from vendors' own published information, last reviewed on 29 September 2026. See how we list products.