Back of House
164 products listed
Introduction
Everything a food business does out of the guest's sight has a cost attached: what you buy, what you cook, what you throw away, what you print on a label, and whether the kitchen keeps up on a busy night. The software in this group tracks and controls those things. Some products count and cost stock. Others handle ordering from suppliers, spot waste, run the screens in the kitchen, forecast what you will sell, or keep quality records for a factory. They differ in what they measure and who they suit, so start with the problem that costs you most, then pick the narrower kind of tool.
Who needs it
Any kitchen that buys ingredients in volume, from a single cafe watching food cost to a central kitchen supplying several sites. It becomes worth having when you can no longer see margins from memory or spreadsheets, when invoices pile up, or when a second site makes manual checks unreliable.
Written 30 September 2026
What to look for
Which problem it actually solves. Stock counting, recipe costing, supplier ordering, waste capture and quality records are separate jobs. Many products cover two or three, but each has one it does best.
Single site or many sites. Some products are built for one kitchen, others for groups with central kitchens and transfers between outlets. Check that the one you shortlist matches your size today and next year.
Does it read your POS sales. Usage against sales is what reveals losses. Tools that pull sales from your till can compare what should have been used with what was used.
Hardware you must buy. Most products run on a phone or tablet. A few need scales, sensors, cameras or their own screens, which adds cost and installation.
At a glance
Across the 236 profiles read for this group, most products do not publish a price and ask you to book a demo. Those that do usually charge a monthly fee per location, though a few charge per user, per screen or by supplier order volume.
Categories in Back of House
Inventory Management (52)
Stock is money sitting on shelves, and it walks out of the door through waste, over-portioning and theft.
Recipe Costing & Menu Engineering (41)
Ingredient prices move, and a dish that made money in spring can lose it by autumn.
Ordering by phone, text and paper leaves you with no record of what you agreed to pay, and no easy way to check a delivery against an invoice.
A bottle behind the bar is hard to count by eye, and a few unrecorded pours a night add up over a month.
Supplier Ordering Marketplace (22)
Chefs often order from five or six suppliers through texts, calls and emails, then find errors when the delivery arrives.
Food Waste Tracking & Reduction (16)
Most kitchens know they throw food away, but few know how much, which items or at what stage.
Quality Management System (food QMS) (15)
When an auditor or a customer asks for proof, a folder of paper forms is slow to search and easy to get wrong.
Food Labelling & Date Coding (14)
A label has to carry the right name, ingredients, allergens, nutrition panel and dates, and handwritten ones get smudged or skipped.
On a busy service, paper tickets get lost, stained and read out of order.
Restaurant Accounting & Bookkeeping (8)
Restaurant books are busier than most: daily takings across several payment types, tips, many small supplier bills, and payroll.
Over-prep wastes food and under-prep loses sales, and both come from guessing how busy tomorrow will be.
Kitchen Automation & Robotics Software (3)
A small group of products goes beyond software on a screen and tries to automate parts of kitchen and order flow.
Compare products
158products with a profile. Showing 1 to 100. Ordered by how many columns are filled, then by name. Select a column heading to sort.
| Product | Best for | Starting price | Free plan | Free trial | Platforms | Integrations | Last reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food and beverage distributors and suppliers | GBP 270 per month | No | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 28 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location bar and restaurant groups | USD 79 per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent bars and restaurants | USD 149 per location per month | No | Yes | Web | 6 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and pubs on Toast, Square, Clover or GoTab | USD 59 per month | Yes | Yes | Web | 4 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, cafes and pubs in Australia | $99 (currency not stated) per month, billed monthly | Yes | Yes | Web | 15 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Wholesale food and drink suppliers | AUD 149 per month | Yes | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Hotel kitchens | EUR 15 per business per month, billed yearly | No | Yes | iOS, Android | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and beverage programmes | USD 249 per location per month | No | No | Web, iOS, Android | 35 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars that want to find over-pouring and shrinkage | USD 100 per month | No | Not stated | iOS, Windows | 8 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Single bars starting cheaply | USD 39.99 one-time (BarkeepApp) | No | Not stated | Web, iOS | 2 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and beverage programmes | Not published | No | Yes | Web | 21 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Toast restaurants wanting self-serve forecasts | USD 50 per location per month | Yes | Not stated | Web | 4 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and nightclubs | USD 149 per month, billed monthly on an annual subscription | Not stated | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 10 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Small food producers in Germany | EUR 49 per year | No | Yes | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Food manufacturers selling in Australia and New Zealand | $126 (currency not stated) per user per month, billed annually | Not stated | Yes | Web | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and cafes preparing for hygiene inspections | GBP 13 per site per month | Not stated | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Cafes, bistros and fast casual restaurants | USD 16 per screen per month, billed yearly | Not stated | Yes | iOS, Android | 37 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Hotel groups and multi-outlet F&B operations | GBP 75 per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location quick-service and fast-casual restaurants | $79 (currency not stated) per location per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 14 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent restaurants and cafes | USD 249 per month | No | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 20 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Single-location restaurants and small food businesses | EUR 79 per location per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit restaurant groups | USD 19 per month (billed annually) | Not stated | Yes | Web | 10 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent, single-site restaurants | USD 19.99 per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 2 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Small food producers needing US nutrition labels | USD 39 per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Cafes, restaurants and venues in Australia | $49 (currency not stated) per month | Yes | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 13 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent restaurants | USD 49 per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | 31 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, pubs, clubs and nightclubs in Australia | $39 (currency not stated) per month | No | Yes | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants that already have a POS and want to add ordering and kitchen tools | USD 150 per location per month | Not stated | Yes | Web, iOS, Android, Windows | 10 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Cafes, restaurants and bars ordering from several suppliers | $99 (currency not stated) per month | Yes | Not stated | Web | 19 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit and franchise restaurant chains | USD 150 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 19 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Fine dining restaurants | EUR 85 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Windows | 26 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and restaurants that count stock by hand | EUR 52 per month | Not stated | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and restaurants with liquor cost problems | USD 250 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 26 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and restaurants losing draft beer | USD 99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Home bakers and cake decorators | USD 149 first year, then $36 per year | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent restaurants and small chains | USD 2,995 one-off | Not stated | Not stated | Web, Windows | 9 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant brands | USD 199 per location per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 26 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant operators | USD 15 per location per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent restaurants, cafes and pubs | GBP 1.59 per day | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 8 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurant chains | EUR 174.9 per location per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 20 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Fresh food wholesalers and distributors | USD 499 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 20 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Contract dining and onsite foodservice | USD 99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 14 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Ambitious independent restaurants and pubs | GBP 129 per location per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 7 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Caterers, schools and healthcare kitchens | Not published | Not stated | Yes | Web | 14 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants with several branches in the Middle East | AED 299 per branch per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants buying from several distributors | USD 149 per location per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent restaurants and multi-unit groups | USD 350 per location per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS | 29 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Food manufacturers and small producers needing labels | $29 (currency not stated) per month | Not stated | Yes | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bakeries and food manufacturers needing nutrition labels | USD 39 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Windows | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Food producers needing nutrition labels | USD 36 per month | Not stated | Yes | Web, Windows | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Chef-led kitchens managing recipes and food cost | USD 180 per unit per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 6 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and bars wanting automated ordering | USD 179 per store per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 25 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Prepared meals, grab-and-go and packaged food | USD 129 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 4 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and pubs that count liquor by hand | Not published | No | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Independent restaurants and small kitchens | EUR 50 per month, excluding VAT | Not stated | Yes | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars, restaurants and hotels | USD 129 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 16 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and kitchens replacing spreadsheets for food costing | USD 24 per month, billed annually | Yes | Not stated | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and food trucks that need recipe costing | USD 24.17 per month, billed annually | Not stated | Yes | Web, iOS, Android | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, cafes and bars ordering from several suppliers | Not published | Yes | Not stated | Web | 2 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Craft food producers and direct sellers | EUR 150 per year, excluding VAT | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants with a large wine list | Not published | Yes | Not stated | Web | 18 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants already running Square POS | USD 20 per device per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, Android | 7 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-branch restaurant groups | USD 250 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 19 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, cafes, bars and restaurant chains in Russia and neighbouring countries | RUB 3,750 per licence per month | Not stated | Not stated | iOS, Android | 11 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Small and medium hotel and restaurant groups | Not published | Not stated | Yes | Web | 2 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Food and beverage manufacturers | USD 20,000 per year | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 6 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurant groups | EUR 95 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Single restaurants wanting simple inventory | USD 295 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 27 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Quick-service and fast casual operators | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 15 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Hotel, pub and restaurant groups controlling purchasing costs | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 22 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit restaurant groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 21 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant and bar chains | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 14 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and local operators with draft beer | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Bars and cocktail lounges | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS | 6 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants that order from several wholesale suppliers | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurant groups and chains | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 14 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Food wholesalers and distributors | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Hospital and health system foodservice | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit restaurant groups | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 21 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-unit restaurant chains | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 36 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Large casual-dining and quick-service chains | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, Android, Windows | 22 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants, bars and cafes in Spain | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | iOS, Android, Windows | 8 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Singapore restaurants, cafes and bakeries buying in bulk | Not published | Yes | Not stated | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants that want a KDS without a subscription | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 10 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Small food brands and startups | Not published | Not stated | Yes | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-outlet groups with a central kitchen | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 7 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Food manufacturers and brands preparing for GFSI audits | EUR 89 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Food manufacturers and CPG brands | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 1 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Food manufacturers going paperless | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 4 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Food manufacturers and processors | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS | 5 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Multi-location restaurant operators | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android | 25 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants and hospitality groups that order from many suppliers | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 44 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants juggling several delivery apps | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 20 | 29 September 2026 | |
| University dining programs | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 4 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Contract caterers | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 18 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Institutional and contract foodservice | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Hotel groups and resorts | CHF 349 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Web | None named | 29 September 2026 | |
| Contract caterers and multi-site foodservice accounts | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 3 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Restaurants replacing kitchen printers | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | iOS | 10 | 29 September 2026 | |
| Senior living and skilled nursing communities | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Web | 18 | 29 September 2026 |
Products without a full profile
Related categories
Figures come from vendors' own published information, last reviewed on 29 September 2026. See how we list products.




















































































